Interdisciplinary Collaborative Workshop Award

The Interdisciplinary Collaborative Workshop (ICW) program is intended to spur new collaborations among scholars in CLA and beyond. It provides support to bring together faculty, staff, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students from a variety of fields to intensively study a topic.

ICWs are meant to convene scholars from within the college and beyond, and as such, proposed forms of workshops may include (but are not limited to) reading groups, seminars, symposia, conferences, or virtual centers.

The program originated in the college Roadmap process, an ongoing consultative process driven by students, staff, and faculty and our various publics. ICWs are funded by the Joan Aldous Innovation Fund, in support of the College's Roadmap goal to generate new levels of innovative research through focused investment strategies.

Now in its second year, the ICW program has supported eleven workshops. Workshop leadership teams have collectively brought together 86 faculty and staff members from CLA, 44 from other units at the University of Minnesota, and 36 scholars and professionals from outside the university. These workshops in turn actively engage dozens of participants—students, community members, artists, policy makers—and host events drawing hundreds more.

Past Awards

  • Mini Grant Awards Spring 2018
    • After Janus: Worker Centers and the Future of Labor
    • Intersectional Food Studies: Putting the Pieces Together
    • Reparations, Repatriation, and Redress
  • Full Grant Awards Fall 2017
    • Migration and Migrants in Terrifying Times
    • Memory, Trauma, and Human Rights at the Crossroads of Art and Science
  • Mini Grant Awards Fall 2017
    • Effects of Parental Incarceration on Family and Child Wellbeing: Informing Best Practices Through an Investigation of Caregiver Experiences
    • Blackness and Disability Studies: Interrogating Anti-Black Racism and Disablement
    • Narrative/Medicine: Personal Narative Analysis Across the Liberal Arts and Medical Practice
  • Mini Grant Awards Spring 2017
    • Exploring the Future of Embodied Technologies
    • Sonance: Musical Performance in/of/as Cultural Research
    • City as Commons: Municipalism in America