Faculty & Staff of Distinction

Our faculty and staff have been awarded many prestigious awards. Staff members are denoted with an asterisk (*).

Beverly and Richard Fink Faculty Fund in the Liberal Arts
Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholars Lecture Award

Award Criteria

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellows
Andrew Carnegie Fellows

Award Criteria

Arsham and Charlotte Ohanessian Chair
Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award

Award Criteria

Career Readiness Teaching Award
David Michael Winton and Penny Rand Winton Chair in the Liberal Arts
Dean's Medalists
Department-Level Faculty Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Amos S. Deinard Memorial Chair in Modern Jewish History

Arleen Carlson Professor of Political Science

Barbara Barker Professorship in Dance

Benjamin Lippincott Professorship of Political Economy

  • 2021-2023 (Visiting)
    • Terri Caraway, Political Science
    • Cosette Creamer, Political Science
    • John Freeman, Political Science
    • James Hollyer, Political Science
    • David Samuels, Political Science
    • Jane Lawrence Sumner, Political Science

Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible

Carter-Schwab Professorship in Economics

Center for Austrian Studies Endowment

Curtis L. Carlson Professor of Economics

  • 2018-2022 - Fatih Guvenen, Economics
  • 2015-2021 - Thomas Holmes, Economics

Distinguished Edelstein-Keller Visiting Professor of Creative Writing in the Department of English

  • 2013-2020 - Charles Baxter, English 

Don R. and Carole J. Larson Professorship in Journalism

  • 2020-2023 - EmilyVraga, Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication 

Don A. Martindale Endowed Chair in Sociology

Frederick Thomas Professorship in Lang & Law

  • 2002-Ongoing - Brian Bix, Philosophy & Law School

John and Elizabeth Bates Cowles Endowment in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • 2000-Ongoing - Daniel Sullivan, Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • 2019-2022 - Matthew Weber, Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication

John P. Campbell Professorship in Industrial & Organizational Psychology

John M. Dolan Professor of Philosophy

Lowell W. Hellervik/PDI Professorship in Organizational and Counseling Psychology

Marvin D. Dunnette Distinguished Chair in Industrial and Organizational Psychology

Mary Griggs Burke Endowed Chair in Asian Studies

  • 2019-2020 - Paul Rouzer, Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Nadine Jette Sween Professorship in Dance

  • 2005-Ongoing - Carl Flink, Theatre Arts & Dance

Otto A. Silha and Helen F. Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law

  • 2000-Ongoing - Jane Kirtley, Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication

Raymond O. Mithun Land Grant Chair in Advertising

  • 2017-2020 - Jisu Huh, Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication

Rudolph Vecoli Chair in Immigration History Research

Sage Cowles Land Grant Chair in Dance

  • 2020 (Visiting)
    • Annie Hanauer, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Robert Moses, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • J-Sun Noer, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Leslie Parker, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Tim Russell, Theatre Arts & Dance
  • 2019 (Visiting)
    • Alisto Alessi, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Herbert Johnson III, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Eko Supriyanto, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Pramilla Vasudevan, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Marcus Jarrell Willis, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Kjara Staric Wurst, Theatre Arts & Dance
  • Faculty Artists CLA 150th Celebration: Carl Fink and Joanie Smith
  • 2017 (Visiting)
    • Luciana Archugar, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Brian Brooks, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Angharad Davies, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Marta Saviglianao, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Rosy Simas, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Marcus Jarrell Willis, Theatre Arts & Dance
  • 2016 (Visiting)
    • Gerald Casel, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Garth Fagan, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Wynn Fricke, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Luke Olson-Elm, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Natalie Rogers-Cropper, Theatre Arts & Dance
  • 2015 (Visiting)
    • Gregory Dolbashian, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Martha Graham, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Justin Jones, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Maurya Kerr, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Scott Rink, Theatre Arts & Dance
  • 2014 (Visiting)
    • Berit Ahlgren, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Nira Chipaumire, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Thomas DeFrantz, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Kile Hotchkiss, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Scott Rink, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Joanna Rosenthal, Theatre Arts & Dance
    • Kately Skelly, Theatre Arts & Dance

School of Music Ethel Alice Hitchcock Land Grant Chair in Accompanying and Coaching

Starke Hathaway Endowed Chair in Clinical Psychology

Stephen C. Feinstein Chair in Holocaust and Genocide Studies

Stephen R. Setterberg, M.D., Faculty Endowment in Philosophy

Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies

Thomas Sargent Professorship in Economics






Distinguished McKnight University Professorships

Award Criteria

Government of Finland and David and Nancy Speer Visiting Professorship in Finnish Studies


Graduate and Professional Education Award

Award Criteria

Guggenheim Fellowships

Award Criteria

John Black Johnston Distinguished Professorship


John Tate Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

The John Tate award may be given to faculty & non-faculty advisors.
Award Criteria

  • 2020-21 - Barbara Goodwin. CLA Student Services
  • 2017-18 - Jennifer Jane Marshall, Art History
  • 2015-16 - Maryanne Williams, Spanish and Portuguese Studies*
  • 2014-15 - Becky Mooney, Psychology*
  • 2014-15 - Les J. Opatz, CLA Student Services*
  • 2013-14 - Kathleen Hansen, Journalism & Mass Communication
  • 2011-12 - Timothy Johnson, Political Science
  • 2010-11 - Rebecca Rassier, Individualized Degree Programs *
  • 2009-10 - Paul Timmins, CLA Career Services *
  • 2008-09 - Ellen Sunshine, Martin Luther King, Jr. Program *
  • 2007-08 - Holly Hatch-Surisook, Psychology *
  • 2006-07 - Mary Moga, CLA Honors *
  • 2005-06 - Thomas “Ted” Fitch, Arts Student Community *
  • 2005-06 - Rob Silberman, Art History
  • 2004-05 - Gary Thomas, Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
  • 2003-04 - Sally Taylor Lieberman, CLA Honors *
  • 2002-03 - Jane Anderson, Social Sciences Student Community *
  • 2000-01 - Pamela Price Baker, CLA Honors *
  • 1999-2000 - Daniel Kelliher, Political Science
MacArthur Fellowships

Award Criteria

McKnight Land-Grant Professors

Award Criteria

McKnight Presidential Endowed Chairs

Award Criteria

  • 2008-09 - Kathryn Sikkink, Political Science
  • 2003-04 - Phyllis Moen, Sociology
  • 2001-02 - Mark Snyder, Psychology
McKnight Presidential Endowed Professors

Award Criteria

McKnight Presidential Fellows

Award Criteria

Morse-Alumni Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education

Award Criteria

Nobel Prize

Award Criteria

  • 2007 - Economic Sciences - Leonid Hurwicz, Economics
Paul W. Frenzel Land Grant Chair in Liberal Arts
President's Award for Outstanding Service

This award recognizes both faculty & staff who have demonstrated outstanding service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments and service units.

Award Criteria

President's Community-Engaged Scholar Award (System Wide)
Regents Professorships

Award Criteria

Rome Prize

Award Criteria

Russel M. & Elizabeth M. Bennett Chair in Excellence


  • 2019-2024 - Ruth Karras, History
  • 2016-2020 - Richa Nagar, Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
Samuel Russell Chair in Humanities in the College of Liberal Arts


Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award

Award Criteria

Scholars of the College

Award Criteria