Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF)

UMN Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) supports PhD candidates for an entire year to finalize their work and complete the writing of their dissertations. The DDF program is funded and managed by the Graduate School.
The award includes a stipend of $25,000 for the academic year, tuition for up to 14 thesis credits each semester, and subsidized health insurance through the Graduate Assistant Health Plan.

2020-2021 Graduate School DDF CLA Awardees
  • Hannah Berg, Psychology
  • Maria Jose Carreras Valle, Economics
  • Nisarg Desai, Anthropology
  • Sarah Garcia, Sociology
  • McKinley Green, Rhetoric and Scientific and Technical Comm
  • Maria Heath, Linguistics
  • Kathryn Huether, Historical Musicology/Ethnomusicology 
  • Bomi Jeon, English
  • SeungGyeong Ji, Feminist Studies
  • Brittany Krzyzanowski, Geography
  • Siyu Li, Political Science
  • Runchao Liu, Communication Studies
  • Keavy McFadden, Geography
  • Hannah McVeigh, Political Science
  • Devika Narayan, Sociology
  • Ryan O’Dell, Music Theory
  • Kristi Oeding, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
  • Nithya Rajan, Feminist Studies
  • Joshua Reno, Classical and Near Eastern Studies
  • Joseph Sannicandro, Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society
  • Agnès Schaffauser, French
  • Caitlin Taborda-Whitt, Sociology
  • Matthew Tchepikova-Treon, American Studies
  • Emily Willoughby, Psychology
2019-2020 Graduate School DDF CLA Awardees
  • Christine Bachman-Sanders, American Studies
  • Mario Cossio Olavide, Hispanic and Luso Literatures, Cultures and Ling
  • Dana DeVlieger, Music
  • Jenna Dreier, English
  • Eric Goldfischer, Geography
  • Chloe Huelsnitz, Psychology
  • Christopher Hunt, Psychology
  • Keven Joyal-Desmarais, Psychology
  • José Kaire De Francisco, Political Science
  • Mitchell Kinney, Statistics
  • Udya Kuwar Thapa, Geography
  • Tatyana Matveeva, Psychology
  • Maria Méndez, Political Science
  • Amy Neff, Economics
  • Naimah Petigny, Feminist Studies
  • Vitoria Rabello de Castro, Economics
  • Conor Ryan, Economics
  • Mikkel Vad, Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society
  • Thomas Vargas Castro, Political Science
  • Meyer Weinshel, Germanic Studies
  • Patrick Wilz, History
  • Stephen Wulff, Sociology

CLA Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

The College of Liberal Arts Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship Award is awarded to a select number of students who applied to, but did not receive, the UMN Graduate School DDF Award and who are enrolled in a graduate program of the College of Liberal Arts. The purpose of the award aligns with the Graduate School DDF terms and conditions.  The purpose of the fellowship is to support outstanding Ph.D. candidates. Fellows are expected to devote full time to the research and writing of the dissertation, as proposed, to assure timely completion of their degree. 
The Fellowship carries a one-semester stipend of $12,500 plus tuition for up to 14 thesis credits and /or required dissertation-related seminars only. The award is to be used the following academic year following the spring CLA DDF competition. 

2020-2021 CLA DDF Awardees
  • Chieh Kao, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
  • Adrian Chavana, History
  • Vanessa Cambier, Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
  • Paula Armendariz Miranda, Political Science
  • Victoria Piehowski, Sociology
  • Andrew Schumacher Bethke, History
  • Wei Ye, Anthropology
  • Garrett Johnson, Political Science
  • Celia Bravo Diaz, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
  • Kent Weber, History
  • Deniz Coral, Anthropology
  • Christian Bell, Theatre Arts & Dance
  • Jose Antonio Aguirre Pombo, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
2019-2020 CLA DDF Awardees
  • Douglas Addleman, Psychology
  • Jacqueline Daigneault, Geography, Environment and Society
  • Theresa Downing, Art History
  • Jacqui Frost, Sociology
  • Joshua Reno, Classical and Near Eastern Studies
  • Jan Volek, History
  • Genevieve Young, French