TWC Majors Elected to Academic Honor Society

Technical Writing and Communication majors Nina Afremov, Megan Lange, and Meghan Scaeffer were elected to the Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society this spring. Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society, founded on December 5, 1776. The University of Minnesota’s chapter was chartered in 1892, making it the oldest chapter in Minnesota.

Phi Beta Kappa honors identifies students as being in the top 10% of liberal arts and sciences graduates at the University of Minnesota. Specifically, students are required to complete a second language at an intermediate level and complete the liberal education and writing requirements, all together demonstrating excellent and well-rounded academic achievement in the liberal arts and sciences. To be elected as a senior, students need a 3.65 cumulative GPA and to be elected as a junior, students need a 3.85 cumulative GPA.

Congratulations Nina, Megan, and Meghan!

Undergraduate Students
Research and Creative Work
Share on: