You are here

Faculty

Faculty in the Department of Writing Studies at the University of Minnesota are recognized around the world for their outstanding contributions to teaching and scholarship in rhetoric, writing, and technical communication. Our twelve tenured professors take great pride in working with students to explore areas including writing and digital media; writing in technical, medical, and workplace settings; writing in relation to history, culture, society, and politics.

Students who take classes in writing studies also benefit from the experience and knowledge of our full time professional instructors, graduate instructors, and teaching assistants. Our instructional staff are experts in the teaching of writing, especially first year composition and technical writing.

Full-Time Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Lee-Ann Kastman Breuch
Professor
Chair
233 Nolte
612-624-1784
lkbreuch@umn.edu
Rhetoric and technical communication, writing theory and pedagogy, online writing instruction, usability and human factors
Patrick Bruch
Associate Professor
209 Nolte
612-625-6041
patbruch@umn.edu
Theory and history of composition studies, critical literacy and critical pedagogy, cultural studies
Daniel Card
Assistant Professor
221 Nolte
612-625-7974
dcard@umn.edu
Rhetoric of Science & Environment, Digital/Computational Rhetoric, Technical Writing, Rhetorics of Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Ann Hill Duin
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
(Certificate and MS)
215 Nolte
612-625-9259
ahduin@umn.edu
Collaboration, distance education, partnerships
Distinguished University Teaching Professor
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
201 Nolte
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory, stylistics & rhetorical criticism
Laura Gurak
Professor
211 Nolte
612-624-3773
gurakl@umn.edu
Rhetorical theory; Internet studies; technical writing and communication; digital research methods
Molly Kessler
Assistant Professor
210 Nolte
612-301-2577
kesslerm@umn.edu
Rhetoric of health and medicine, professional and technical communication, rhetoric of science and technology
Anne Lazaraton
Associate Professor
Director, Writing for International Students (WINS)
On leave fall 2019
200 Nolte
612-626-9372
lazaratn@umn.edu
Applied linguistics
Amy Lee
Professor
Director of First Year Writing
213 Nolte
amylee@umn.edu
612626-6707
Critical pedagogy; Teacher development in higher education; Engaging diversity and supporting equity in undergraduate classrooms; Composition/writing studies; Intercultural pedagogy
H.T. Morse Distinguished Professor
John Logie
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
(MA & PhD)
206 Nolte
612-624-4709
logie@umn.edu
Rhetorical theory, rhetoric of electronic writing spaces, sophistic rhetoric
Rachel Presley
Assistant Professor
205 Nolte
612-625-0151
rpreseley@umn.edu
 
Thomas Reynolds
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
207 Nolte
612-626-0065
reyno004@umn.edu
Composition Studies, Literacy History
Donald Ross
Professor
Director of First-Year Writing
223 Nolte
612-625-5585
rossj001@umn.edu
Travel writing; rhetoric of argument; computers in writing instruction; writing in academic disciplines
Mary Schuster
Professor
225 Nolte
612-624-2262
mmlay@umn.edu
Rhetoric of the law; feminist perspectives on domestic violence and sexual assault
2013-14 Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate faculty have their homes in other departments, but hold appointments in our graduate Rhetoric & Scientific and Technical Communication (RSTC) programs.

Name Contact Specialty
Lisa Albrecht
Associate Professor
School of Social Work
193 Peters Hall
612-624-3669
lalbrech@umn.edu
Feminist, multicultural and social justice education
Robert L. Brown, Jr.
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
206 Nicholson Hall
612-624-8878
brown004@umn.edu
Cultural studies of science and technology, rhetoric, literacy and critical pedagogy
Karlyn K. Campbell
Professor
Communication Studies
225A Ford Hall
612-624-9003
campb003@umn.edu
Rhetorical criticism, rhetorical theory, political communication
Shirley N. Garner
Professor
English
330B Lind Hall
612-625-1826
sngarner@umn.edu
Renaissance literature, Shakespeare, feminist studies in literature
Ronald W. Greene
Professor
Communication Studies
225 Ford Hall
612-624-2808
green179@umn.edu
Political communication, debates, civic education
Joseph A. Konstan
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering
5-207 Keller Hall
612-625-1831
konstan@umn.edu
Human-computer interaction, recommender systems, online community
Cynthia Lewis
Professor
Curriculum and Instruction
336 Peik Hall
612-625-6313
lewis@umn.edu
Critical literacy and digital media in urban high schools, classroom discourse
Daniel J. Philippon
Associate Professor
English
21 Lind Hall
612-624-4209
danp@umn.edu
Environmental literature, history, and ethics; ideas of nature, culture, and place; human dimensions of conservation biology
Geoffrey Sirc
Professor
English
210J Lind Hall
612-625-0134
sirc@umn.edu
History, practice & theory of writing instruction; new media; hip hop; popular culture

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Andrew Cohen
Professor Emeritus
adcohen@umn.edu Bilingual and immersion education
Christina Haas
Professor Emerita
chaas@umn.edu Writing as material, embodied practice
Earl McDowell
Professor Emeritus
mcdow001@umn.edu Technical communication apprehension
Tom Scanlan
Professor Emeritus
scanl001@umn.edu Humanities
Billie Wahlstrom
Professor Emerita
billie@umn.edu New and emerging technologies and their impact on learning and higher education organizations

Teaching Staff

Name Contact Specialty
Maureen Aitken
Senior Teaching Specialist
307 Nolte
612-624-8777
aitke001@umn.edu
First-year writing
Mark Anderson
Senior Teaching Specialist
309 Nolte
612-625-0757
ander574@umn.edu
First-year writing
Sarah Chandler
Lecturer
331G Nolte
john1551@umn.edu
First-year writing
Kris Cory
Associate Director of First-Year Writing: Teaching Excellence and Pedagogy
304 Nolte
612-626-4279
coryx001@umn.edu
First-year writing
James Countryman
Senior Lecturer
319 Nolte
612-624-3361
countryj@umn.edu
First-year writing
Patty Fillipi
Senior Teaching Specialist
311 Nolte
612-625-0164
filli002@umn.edu
First-year writing, President's Emerging Scholars program
Anne Fretheim
Coordinator, Writing for International Students (WINS)
337C Nolte 
612-301-1317
fret0017@umn.edu
Multilingual learners
Tim Gustafson
Senior Lecturer
337B Nolte
612-625-8671
tgus@umn.edu
First-year writing, technical & professional writing
Sheryl Holt
First-Year Writing Coordinator
(International Speaker Sections)
321 Nolte
612-624-4524
holtx001@umn.edu
Second language writing, graduate writing and presentations across disciplines, technical and business writing
Barbara Horvath
Senior Teaching Specialist
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
202 Nolte
612-624-1902
horva003@umn.edu
Technical editing, visual communication
Kirsten Jamsen
Director, Center for Writing
10 Nicholson
612-625-5355
kjamsen@umn.edu
Writing across the curriculum, composition pedagogy, technology in writing centers and classrooms
Matthew Kimlinger
Senior Teaching Specialist
137A Ruttan
612-625-4710
kimli013@umn.edu
First-year writing
Megan Mills-Rittmann
Lecturer
337A Nolte
612-625-6337
mills139@umn.edu
First-year writing
Nicole Montana
Senior Lecturer
306 Nolte
612-625-0731
nmontana@umn.edu
First-year writing
Joseph Moses
Senior Lecturer
313 Nolte
612-624-2199
moses004@umn.edu
Technical, professional, academic communication and project management
Brigitte Mussack
Lecturer
Coordinator, Advanced Writing
204 Nolte Center
626-8484
muss0039@umn.edu
First-year writing
Capper Nichols
Senior Lecturer
137B Ruttan / 305 Nolte Center
612-624-5345
nicho008@umn.edu
Technology studies, environmental history, travel writing
Cynthia Pope
Teaching Specialist
cpope@umn.edu Technical writing
Jacqueline Schiappa
Associate Director of First-Year Writing: Assessment and Administration
318 Nolte
612-624-6384
schia013@umn.edu
First-year writing
Sarah Selz
Lecturer
323 Nolte
612-624-7991
selzx003@umn.edu
First-year writing, multilingual writing, student writing support
Kimberley Strain
Senior Lecturer
317 Nolte
strai004@umn.edu
First-year writing, professional and technical writing, graduate writing, student writing support, multilingual writing
Lee Thomas
Teaching Specialist
3-372 CarlSMgmt
612-626-6880
thom1221@umn.edu
Scientific and technical communication, information design
Angelo Volpe
Senior Lecturer
310 Nolte
612-624-4394
volp0006@umn.edu
Argumentative writing, first-year writing
William West
Lecturer
325 Nolte
612-624-9729
westx005@umn.edu
Technical writing, medical writing

Graduate Instructors

Name Contact Specialty
Purvai Aranya Lind Hall
arany005@umn.edu
English
Clara Biesel Lind Hall
giebe018@umn.edu
English
Clare Boerighter Lind Hall
boeri007@umn.edu
English
Nathan Bollig 302 Nolte
612-625-4495
bolli046@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Maria Bowler Lind Hall
bowle059@umn.edu
English
Mark Brenden 300 Nolte
612-626-2248
brend053@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Matthew Buck 24-25 Lind Hall
buck0338@umn.edu
English
Kari Campeau 316 Nolte
612-624-1428
campeau@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Kiddiocus Carroll 331C Nolte
612-625-1398

carro440@umn.edu
American Studies
Alexander Champoux 301 Nolte
612-625-2338
champ147@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Moinak Choudury Lind Hall
choud079@umn.edu
English
Nicole Ciulla 331E Nolte
612-625-2666
ciull002@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Samantha Crain Lind Hall
crain046@umn.edu
English
Katlynne Davis 300 Nolte
612-626-2248
davi2936@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Mikayla Davis 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
davi3897@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Evelyn Dsouza Writing Studies
Jennifer Easler Lind Hall
easle038@umn.edu
English
Ronnie Edwards, Jr. Lind Hall
edwa0315@umn.edu
English
Stephen Ellis Lind Hall
ellis754@umn.edu
English
Teresa Fahlgren Lind Hall
fahlg006@umn.edu
English
Brandi Fuglsby 338A
612-626-2292
fugls005@umn.edu
Writing Studies
McKinley Green 338B Nolte 
612-625-3502
gree1968@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Emily Gresbrink 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
gresb008@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Andrew Hamilton Lind Hall
hamil638@umn.edu
English
Katrina Healey Lind Hall
heale020@umn.edu
English
Margaret Heeschen Lind Hall
heesc011@umn.edu
English
Elizabeth Howard Lind Hall
howar571@umn.edu
English
Jacqueline James 302 Nolte
612-625-4495
james806@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Brian Le Lay 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
lelay001@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Zi Ning Mok Lind Hall
mok00004@umn.edu
English
Caleb Molstad Lind Hall
molst036@umn.edu
English
Scott Nelson Lind Hall
nels4697@umn.edu
English
Eddie Nevarez 301 Nolte
612-625-2338
nevar025@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Megan Peterson 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
pet03151@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Jeremy Rosselot-Merritt 338A Nolte
612-626-2292
rosse070@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Laura Rothgeb Lind Hall
rothg004@umn.edu
English
Liana Roux Lind Hall
roux0014@umn.edu
English
Demilizia Saramosing 331C Nolte
612-625-1398
saram005@umn.edu
American Studies
Luke Shackelford 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
shack076@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Brett Sigurdson Lind Hall
sigur039@umn.edu
English
Connor Simons Lind Hall
simo0950@umn.edu
English
Karen Soto Lind Hall
soto0031@umn.edu
English
Danielle Stambler 316 Nolte
612-624-1428
stambler@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Robert Stratton III Lind Hall
strat170@umn.edu
English
Hannah Suchor Lind Hall
such0047@umn.edu
English
John Vanoverbeke Lind Hall
vanov015@umn.edu
English
Saveena Veeramoothoo 331E Nolte
612-625-2666
veera019@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Andrea Waldrep Lind Hall
waldr097@umn.edu
English
Brooke White Lind Hall
whit2911@umn.edu
English
Ryan Wold 338B Nolte 
612-625-3502
woldx183@umn.edu
Writing Studies
Jessa Wood 302 Nolte
612-625-4495
wood1314@umn.edu
Writing Studies