Faculty

Faculty in the Department of Writing Studies at the University of Minnesota are recognized around the world for their outstanding contributions to teaching and scholarship in rhetoric, writing, and technical communication. Our twelve tenured professors take great pride in working with students to explore areas including writing and digital media; writing in technical, medical, and workplace settings; writing in relation to history, culture, society, and politics.

Students who take classes in writing studies also benefit from the experience and knowledge of our full time professional instructors, graduate instructors, and teaching assistants. Our instructional staff are experts in the teaching of writing, especially first year composition and technical writing.

Full-Time Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Lee-Ann Kastman Breuch
Professor
Chair
Interim Director of Graduate Studies (Certificate and MS)
233 Nolte
612-624-1784
lkbreuch@umn.edu
Rhetoric and technical communication, writing theory and pedagogy, online writing instruction, usability and human factors
Patrick Bruch
Associate Professor
209 Nolte
612-625-6041
patbruch@umn.edu
Theory and history of composition studies, critical literacy and critical pedagogy, cultural studies
Daniel Card
Assistant Professor
221 Nolte
612-625-7974
dcard@umn.edu
Rhetoric of science & environment, digital/computational rhetoric, technical writing, rhetorics of innovation & entrepreneurship
Ann Hill Duin
Professor
215 Nolte
612-625-9259
ahduin@umn.edu
Collaboration, distance education, partnerships
Distinguished University Teaching Professor
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
On sabbatical Fall 2022
201 Nolte
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory, stylistics & rhetorical criticism
Laura Gurak
Professor
211 Nolte
612-624-3773
gurakl@umn.edu
Rhetorical theory; Internet studies; technical writing and communication; digital research methods
Molly Kessler
Assistant Professor
Interim Graduate Studies (MA & PhD)
210 Nolte
612-301-2577
kesslerm@umn.edu
Rhetoric of health and medicine, professional and technical communication, rhetoric of science and technology
Amy Lee
Professor
Director of First Year Writing
213 Nolte
amylee@umn.edu
Critical pedagogy; teacher development in higher education; engaging diversity and supporting equity in undergraduate classrooms; composition/writing studies; intercultural pedagogy
H.T. Morse Distinguished Professor
John Logie
Associate Professor
206 Nolte
612-624-4709
logie@umn.edu
Rhetorical theory, rhetoric of electronic writing spaces, sophistic rhetoric
Thomas Reynolds
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
207 Nolte
612-626-0065
reyno004@umn.edu
Composition Studies, literacy history

Professional Instructors

Name Contact Specialty
Maureen Aitken
Senior Teaching Specialist
307 Nolte
612-624-8777
aitke001@umn.edu
First-year writing
Mark Anderson
Senior Teaching Specialist
309 Nolte
612-625-0757
ander574@umn.edu
First-year writing
Kristin Bauck
Teaching Specialist
Nolte
bergs257@umn.edu
First-year writing
Clayton Benjamin
Lecturer
Nolte
benj0056@umn.edu
Technical communication

Alan Berks
Lecturer

136 Nolte
612-625-6530
berks010@umn.edu

First-year writing
Marcy Bock Eastley
Lecturer
Nolte
bergs257@umn.edu
First-year writing
Sarah Chandler
Lecturer
First-year writing
Kris Cory
Associate Director of First-Year Writing: Teaching Excellence and Pedagogy

316 Nolte
612-624-1428
coryx001@umn.edu

First-year writing
Melissa Cundieff-Pexa
Lecturer
331G Nolte
612-626-8860
cundi016@umn.edu
First-year writing
Patty Fillipi
Senior Teaching Specialist
311 Nolte
612-625-0164
filli002@umn.edu
First-year writing, President's Emerging Scholars program
Lee Fisher
Director, Minnesota Writing Project
10 Nicholson
612-625-6323
lcf@umn.edu
 
Anne Fretheim
Senior Lecturer
337C Nolte 
612-301-1317
fret0017@umn.edu
Multilingual learners
Tim Gustafson
Senior Lecturer
337B Nolte
612-625-8671
tgus@umn.edu
First-year writing, technical & professional writing
Jim Hall
Teaching Specialist
Certificate Program Advisor
208 Nolte
612-626-6298
jhall@umn.edu
Technical communication, usability
Elizabeth Hartman
Lecturer
Nolte
hart0644@umn.edu
First-year writing
Michelle Herrin
Lecturer
331G Nolte
612-626-8860
herri340@umn.edu
First-year writing
Matthew Hodapp
Lecturer
Nolte
buck0338@umn.edu
First-year writing
Sheryl Holt Nolte
holtx001@umn.edu
 
Barbara Horvath
Senior Teaching Specialist
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
202 Nolte
612-624-1902
horva003@umn.edu
Technical editing, visual communication
Ezra Hyland
Teaching Specialist
315 Nolte
612-624-5849
hylan003@umn.edu
First-year writing
Kirsten Jamsen
Director, Center for Writing
10 Nicholson
612-625-5355
kjamsen@umn.edu
Writing center studies, writing across the curriculum, composition pedagogy
Rebecca Jurisz Nolte 
juri0010@umn.edu
First-year writing
Matthew Kimlinger
Senior Teaching Specialist
137A Ruttan
612-625-4710
kimli013@umn.edu
First-year writing
Jax Kinniburgh
Teaching Specialist
331C Nolte
612-625-1398
jkinnibu@umn.edu
First-year writing
Nick Kleese
Lecturer
301 Nolte
612-625-2338
klees023@umn.edu
First-year writing
Katie Levin
Co-Director, Center for Writing
612-624-7720
kslevin@umn.edu
 
Bridget Lillethorup
Lecturer
321 Nolte
612-624-4524
lille219@umn.edu
First-year writing
Corinth Matera
Teaching Specialist
304 Nolte
612-624-4279
mate0001@umn.edu
First-year writing
Megan Mills-Rittmann
Lecturer
337A Nolte
612-625-6337
mills139@umn.edu
First-year writing
Nicole Montana
Senior Lecturer
306 Nolte
612-625-0731
nmontana@umn.edu
First-year writing
Joseph Moses
Senior Lecturer
313 Nolte
612-624-2199
moses004@umn.edu
Collaborative writing, technical and professional writing, project design and development, inclusive pedagogy, information design, theory and practice of writing for digital media
Brigitte Mussack
Senior Lecturer
Coordinator, Advanced Writing
204 Nolte Center
626-8484
muss0039@umn.edu
First-year writing
Capper Nichols
Senior Lecturer
305 Nolte Center
612-624-5345
nicho008@umn.edu
Technology studies, environmental history, travel writing
Cynthia Pope
Lecturer
cpope@umn.edu Technical writing
Ian Power-Luetscher
Lecturer
Nolte
powe0313@umn.edu
First-year writing
Dylan Reynolds
Lecturer
315 Nolte
612-624-5849
reyno656@umn.edu
First-year writing
David Rodriguez-Martinez
Post-doc
Pillsbury
rodri966@umn.edu
First-year writing
Tréza Rosado
Teaching Specialist
318 Nolte
612-624-6384
rosad018@umn.edu
First-year writing
Nick Rosencrans
Teaching Specialist
rosen584@umn.edu Usability
Jeremy Rosselot-Merritt rosse070@umn.edu Technical Writing
Sarah Selz
Lecturer
323 Nolte
612-624-7991
selzx003@umn.edu
First-year writing, multilingual writing, student writing support
Maggie Shea
Lecturer
Nolte
shea0040@umn.edu
First-year writing
Kimberley Strain
Senior Lecturer
317 Nolte
strai004@umn.edu
First-year writing, professional and technical writing, graduate writing, student writing support, multilingual learners, writing centers
Sam Sturman-Dahl
Teaching Specialist
Nolte
shea0040@umn.edu
First-year writing
Jasmine Kar Tang
Co-Director, Center for Writing
Co-Director, Minnesota Writing Project
10 Nicholson
612-625-1541
jkt@umn.edu
Writing center studies, Asian American studies, critical race and ethnic studies
Matthew Tchepikova-Treon Nolte
treon005@umn.edu
First-year writing
Elise Toedt
Teaching Specialist
338A Nolte
612-626-2292
toedt012@umn.edu
First-year writing
Lee Thomas
Teaching Specialist
3-372 CarlSMgmt
612-626-6880
thom1221@umn.edu
Scientific and technical communication, information design
Barbara Van Pilsum
Teaching Specialist
337C Nolte
612-301-1317
vanpi012@umn.edu
First-year writing
Molly Vasich
Associate Director of First-Year Writing
321 Nolte
mccar459@umn.edu
First-year writing
Allison Vincent
Teaching Specialist
Nolte
with0059@umn.edu
First-year writing
Angelo Volpe
Senior Lecturer
310 Nolte
612-624-4394
volp0006@umn.edu
Argumentative writing, first-year writing
William West
Lecturer
325 Nolte
612-624-9729
westx005@umn.edu
Technical writing, medical writing
Tara Zahler
Lecturer
331C Nolte
612-625-1398
zahl0012@umn.edu
First-year writing

Graduate Instructors

Name Contact Home Department
Caitlin Baulch Nolte Writing Studies
Isabel Bethke Pillsbury English
Kathleen Bolander Nolte Writing Studies
Mark Brenden Nolte Writing Studies
Cody Bursch Nolte Writing Studies

Kayla Carden

Pillsbury

English
Mikayla Davis Nolte Writing Studies
Stuart Deets Nolte Writing Studies
Rebecca Felter Nolte Writing Studies
Thomas Forrest Pillsbury English
Brandi Fuglsby Nolte Writing Studies
Asmita Ghimire Nolte Writing Studies
Emily Gresbrink Nolte Writing Studies
Jacqueline James Nolte Writing Studies
Kaylen James    American Studies

Emily Jones

Pillsbury English
Brian Le Lay Nolte Writing Studies
Keelia Estrada Moeller Pillsbury English

Scott Nelson

Pillsbury

English
Nyla Numan Pillsbury English
Alison Obright Nolte Writing Studies
J Richards Pillsbury English

Kyle Riper

Pillsbury English
Carol Saalmueller Nolte Writing Studies
Luke Shackelford Nolte Writing Studies
Mercedes Sheldon Pillsbury English
Jessa Wood Nolte Writing Studies
Rira Zamani Nolte Writing Studies

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate faculty have their homes in other departments, but hold appointments in our graduate Rhetoric & Scientific and Technical Communication (RSTC) programs.

Name Contact Specialty
Ronald W. Greene
Professor
Communication Studies
225 Ford Hall
612-624-2808
green179@umn.edu
Political communication, debates, civic education
Atilla Hallsby
Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
263 Ford Hall
hall1039@umn.edu
Rhetorical history, ethics, theory, and criticism
Joseph A. Konstan
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering
5-207 Keller Hall
612-625-1831
konstan@umn.edu
Human-computer interaction, recommender systems, online community
Daniel J. Philippon
Associate Professor
English
320H Pillsbury Hall
612-624-4209
danp@umn.edu
Environmental literature, history, and ethics; ideas of nature, culture, and place; human dimensions of conservation biology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Andrew Cohen
Professor Emeritus
adcohen@umn.edu Bilingual and immersion education
Christina Haas
Professor Emerita
chaas@umn.edu Writing as material, embodied practice
Anne Lazaraton
Associate Professor Emerita
lazaratn@umn.edu Applied linguistics
Earl McDowell
Professor Emeritus
mcdow001@umn.edu Technical communication apprehension
Donald Ross
Professor Emeritus
rossj001@umn.edu Travel writing; rhetoric of argument; computers in writing instruction; writing in academic disciplines
Tom Scanlan
Professor Emeritus
scanl001@umn.edu Humanities
David Schuelke
Professor Emeritus
  Communication in the workplace. Sustainability and communication.
Mary Schuster
Professor Emerita
mmlay@umn.edu Rhetoric of the law; feminist perspectives on domestic violence and sexual assault
2013-14 Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award
Billie Wahlstrom
Professor Emerita

bwahlstr@umn.edu

New and emerging technologies and their impact on learning and higher education organizations