Faculty

African American & African Studies Faculty

Faculty 

Name Contact Specialty
Rose Brewer
Professor
839 Social Sciences
612-624-9305
brewe001@umn.edu
Social and behavioral sciences, public policy and development, African diasporic studies
Njeri Githire
Associate Professor
848 Social Sciences
612-625-1687
ngithire@umn.edu
African artistic and cultural production, African diasporic studies
Keith Mayes
Associate Professor
827 Social Sciences
612-624-5202
mayes@umn.edu
African American history, social and behavioral sciences; public policy
Tade Okediji
Professor
868 Social Sciences
612-624-8957
tokediji@umn.edu
Social and behavioral sciences, public policy and development, Africa and African diasporic studies
Yuichiro Onishi
Associate Professor
874 Social Sciences
612-625-0513
ohni0001@umn.edu
African American history, Asian American studies, African diaspora studies
Bula Sirika Wayessa
Assistant Professor
872 Social Sciences
612-624-5083
bwayessa@umn.edu
 
African archeology, social marginalization, the materiality of social identity, mobility, ontology, and agricultural change
Josef Woldense
Assistant Professor 
878 Social Sciences
612-624-0362
jwoldens@umn.edu
Elite politics; authoritarian regimes, African political institutions and social network analysis

 

Instructors

Name Contact Specialty
Khadar Jama
Lecturer 
852 Social Sciences
612-624-8571
jamax028@umn.edu
African languages (Somali)

Hassan Hade
Teaching Specialist

852 Social Sciences
612-624-8571
hhade@umn.edu
African languages (Somali)
Angaluki Muaka
Senior Teaching Specialist
856 Social Sciences
612-625-0185
muaka@umn.edu
African Languages (Swahili), African diasporic studies
Yolanda Williams
Lecturer
836 Social Sciences
612-624-0122
willi233@umn.edu
African American literature, art, and history

 

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate faculty have homes in other departments, but hold appointments in our African American & African Studies department.

Name Contact Specialty

Adam Bledsoe
Assistant Professor

414 Social Sciences
612-625-6080
bleds008@umn.edu

Geography. Environment & Society
Nathaniel Mills
Associate Professor
Pillsbury Hall
612-625-8444
mills175@umn.edu
English
Michael Minta
Professor

1337 Social Sciences
612-626-5632
mdminta@umn.edu

Political Science
August Nimtz
Professor
1327 Social Sciences
612-624-1512
animtz@umn.edu
Political Science

 

Faculty Emeriti

Name Specialty
Keletso Atkins Africa, African diasporic studies
Victoria Coifman Africa, African diasporic studies
John Wright African American literature, art, and history; Africa and African diasporic studies