Awards and Opportunities for Faculty and Scholars

University of MN

CAS Book & Dissertation Prizes

The Center for Austrian Studies offers Book and Dissertation Prizes, thanks to a generous donation from David and Rosemary Good.

Rath Prize

The R. John Rath prize is given annually for the best article published in the Austrian History Yearbook (AHY). It is funded by the estate of the longtime Habsburg scholar and founding editor of the AHY, R. John Rath (1910-2001), and by contributions made in his memory.

Austrian Fulbright Opportunities

The purpose of the Fulbright Program is to promote “mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the peoples of other countries.” Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by Senator J. William Fulbright from Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has over 310,000 alumni and currently operates in 155 countries, including 50 countries with binational Fulbright commissions such as the Austrian-American Educational Commission. Funded primarily by direct contributions from the governments of the United States of America and the Republic of Austria, the Fulbright Program provides grants for US citizens—who are recent graduates and graduate students or scholars and professionals—to study, teach, or pursue research in Austria and for Austrian citizens to engage in similar activities in the US. Among the Fulbright programs available to Austrians and Americans through the Austrian-American Educational Commission (Fulbright Austria) are research grants for students and faculty, teaching opportunities for faculty, opportunities for recent Austrian college grads to teach German in America, and opportunities for recent American college grads to teach English in Austria. Find more information on the Austrian-American Educational Commission's website.

EURIAS (Post-Doctoral) Fellowship Program

The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Program is an international researcher mobility program offering 10-month residencies in one of the 14 participating Institutes: Berlin, Bologna, Brussels, Bucharest, Budapest, Cambridge, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyons, Nantes, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, and Wassenaar. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars.