Austrian History Yearbook

Founded in 1965 by R. John Rath, the Austrian History Yearbook (AHY) remains the only English-language journal devoted to the history of the territories in Central Europe that were formerly under Habsburg rule and now comprise the modern states of Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and parts of Italy, Poland, Ukraine, Romania, and Serbia. The formation of the European Union and its expansion to include many of these countries brought an upsurge of interest in the region's Habsburg and imperial pasts. Typically, each issue of the Yearbook typically contains seven to ten peer-reviewed articles, an expanded version of the previous year's Kann Memorial Lecture, and approximately 40 book reviews.
AHY 2022

Austrian History Yearbook v. LIII (2022)

The latest issue of the Austrian History Yearbook (2022) is available digitally on Cambridge Core. 

Tables of Contents

For complete information on the contents of the current issue, and back issues, please see the Cambridge Journals website.

Subscriptions and Orders for Back Issues 

Please direct all correspondence regarding subscription, production, distribution, and marketing to Cambridge Journals.

How to Submit to AHY

Author Instructions: the Austrian History Yearbook is a peer-reviewed annual journal for the study of the Habsburg monarchy and the Republic of Austria. It also publishes articles dealing with the other post-1919 successor states if the work has a clear thematic link to the history of the monarchy or the Republic of Austria. It welcomes any submission that has a significant historical dimension or uses historical modes of analysis.

Preparing your materials: the language of the publication is English, but the editors will consider manuscripts in other languages. Authors submitting manuscripts in languages other than English must provide English translations checked by native English speakers prior to publication. The entire text (including quotations, notes, and other supporting material) must be typed and double-spaced with generous margins. Notes should be numbered consecutively throughout and placed in a separate section at the end of the text along with any figures or tables. Manuscripts should be no more than 30 pages in length, not counting notes, tables, figures, and other supporting material. Before a submitted article is published, it is refereed by at least two outside scholars.

Submitting your materials: if you wish to submit an article, please send an email with the article attached as a file created in a common word-processing program (Word, Pages, etc.) to the assistant editor at Electronic copies of final versions of accepted manuscripts must be submitted via email and must be formatted according to Yearbook style guidelines.

Please note: if your article contains images, maps, figures, or other related content, you must secure all applicable permissions and submit them with your article manuscript.


Executive Editor: Howard Louthan, University of Minnesota

Editor: TBA

Book Review Editor: TBA

Assistant Editor: Timothy McDonald, University of Minnesota

Editorial Board:  Birgitta Bader-Zaar, Steven Beller, John W. Boyer, Gary Cohen, Laurence Cole, Mark Cornwall, Ágnes Deák, Mary Gluck, David F. Good, Paul Hanebrink, Jeremy King, Rebekah Klein-Pesjova, Laura Lisy-Wagner, Michael Laurence Miller, Joseph Patrouch, Bruce Pauley, James Shedel, Arnold Suppan, Philipp Ther, Nancy Wingfield, Larry Wolff, and Tara Zahra.

Correspondents: Derek Beales, Jean-Paul Bled, Robert Donia, Jeroen Duindam, Martin Elbel, Gábor Gyáni, Peter Haslinger, Catherine Horel, Yaroslav Hrytsak, Eva Kowalská, Oto Luthar, Graeme Murdock, Jiří Pokorný, Markian Prokopovych, Iris Rachamimov, Drago Roksandić, Peter Thaler, Robert von Friedeburg.

The Austrian History Yearbook is sponsored by the University's Center for Austrian Studies in cooperation with the Society for Austrian and Habsburg History, an affiliate society of the American Historical Association and its Conference Group on Central European History, and the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies.

The editorial offices of the Yearbook are at the University's Center for Austrian Studies.