Faculty

Name Contact Specialty

Beth Allen

Professor

4-183 Hanson Hall

612-626-8213

allen030@umn.edu

Economic theory, information theory, game theory

Manuel Amador

Professor

4-187 Hanson Hall

612-624-4060

amador@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, international economics

Fahima Aziz

Lecturer

4-145 Hanson Hall

612-626-9675

azizx002@umn.edu

Environmental economics, poverty and income inequality, scholarship of teaching and learning

Anmol Bhandari

Assistant Professor

4-157 Hanson Hall

612-624-2816

bhandari@umn.edu

Macroeconomics

V. V. Chari

Professor

4-191 Hanson Hall

612-626-7151

chari002@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, fiscal and monetary policy, financial intermediation

Rachel Croson

Executive Vice President and Provost

provost@umn.edu Microeconomics, behavioral/experimental economics, game theory

Mariacristina De Nardi

Professor

Thomas Sargent Professor of Economics

4-169 Hanson Hall

612-624-1978

denar001@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, public economics, household finance, wealth distribution, savings, social security, social insurance reform, and human capital

Fatih Guvenen

Professor

Carlson Professor of Economics

Minnesota Economics Big Data Initative

4-177 Hanson Hall

612-625-0767

guvenen@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, labor economics, financial economics

Kyle Herkenhoff

Assistant Professor

4-173 Hanson Hall

612-265-3399

kfh@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, applied macroeconomics, labor economics

Thomas J. Holmes

Professor and Chair

4-135 Hanson Hall

612-625-4512

holmes@umn.edu

Industrial organization, urban economics, and applied microeconomics

Larry E. Jones

Professor

4-159 Hanson Hall

612-624-4553

lej@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, public finance, growth and development

Loukas Karabarbounis

Professor

4-185 Hanson Hall

612-625-7504

loukas@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, labor economics, and international finance

Timothy Kehoe

Professor

4-175 Hanson Hall

612-625-1589

tkehoe@umn.edu

International trade, public finance

Jeremy Lise

Carter-Schwab Professor of Economics

4-137 Hanson Hall

612-625-0941

jlise@umn.edu

Intra-Household Allocation, Equilibrium Labor Search, Inequality

Erzo Luttmer

Professor

4-179 Hanson Hall

612-625-5054

luttmer@umn.edu

Financial economics, industrial organization growth, macroeconomics

Hannes Malmberg

Assistant Professor

4-151 Hanson Hall

612-301-7109

pmalmber@umn.edu

Macroeconomics of economic development

Ellen McGrattan

Professor

Director, Heller Hurwicz Economics Institute

4-161 Hanson Hall

612-625-6714

erm@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, monetary and fiscal policy, international finance

Joseph Mullins

Assistant Professor

4-133 Hanson Hall

612-625-7858

mullinsj@umn.edu

Labor economics, inequity, human capital formation

Amil Petrin

Professor

4-125 Hanson Hall

612-625-0145

petrin@umn.edu

Econometrics, industrial organization

Christopher Phelan

Professor

4-189 Hanson Hall

612-626-2533

cphelan@umn.edu

Monetary economics, public economics

David Rahman

Associate Professor

4-127 Hanson Hall

612-625-3525

dmr@umn.edu

Economic theory, mathematical economics

Aldo Rustichini

Professor

4-149 Hanson Hall

612-625-4816

rusti001@umn.edu

Economic theory, economic dynamics

Simran Sahi

Director of Undergraduate Studies

4-101 Hanson Hall

612-625-6353

ssahi@umn.edu

International trade and finance

Jan Werner

Professor

4-139 Hanson Hall

612-625-0708

jwerner@umn.edu

Financial economics, economic theory

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty

Naoki Aizawa

Assistant Professor

Economics
University of Wisconsin-Madison

naizawa@wisc.edu Labor Economics, Health Economics, Public Economics

Patrick Kehoe

Professor

Economics
Stanford University

pkehoe@stanford.edu International trade and finance

Elena Pastorino

Research Fellow

Hoover Institution Stanford University

epastori@stanford.edu Labor economics, applied microeconomics
Arthur Rolnick

 

4-157 Hanson Hall
612-625-2816
arolnick@umn.edu
Financial economics, monetary policy, economics of education

Joel Waldfogel

Professor

Carlson School of Management

4-131 Hanson Hall
612-624-4551
jwaldfog@umn.edu
Intellectual property, law and economics, industrial organization

Kurt Winkelmann

Senior Fellow

4-143 Hanson Hall
612-624-4558
kurt.d.winkelmann@gmail.com
Financial economics, pension policy

Adjunct & Visiting Faculty

Name Contact Specialty

Cristina Arellano

Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

arellano.cristina@gmail.com International economics, macroeconomics

Donna Feir

Adjunct Professor

Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

feir0021@umn.edu Labor economics, applied econometrics,  economic history

Doireann Fitzgerald

Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

doireann.fitzgerald@gmail.com International economics

Jonathan Heathcote

Adjunct Professor

Monetary Advisor, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapoils

612-204-6385
heathcote@minneapolisfed.org
Labor economics, public economics

Juan Pablo Nicolini

Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

juanpa@minneapolisfed.org Macroeconomics

James Schmitz, Jr.

Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

612-204-5482
jas@res.mlps.frb.fed.us
Economic growth, industrial organization

Emeritus Faculty

Name Contact Specialty

John Chipman

Professor Emeritus

jchipman@umn.edu International trade

Edward Foster

Professor Emeritus

foster@umn.edu Public economics, cost benefit analysis, environmental economics

Craig Swan

Professor Emeritus

swan@umn.edu Macroeconomics, housing policy