Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Beth Allen
Professor

4-183 Hanson Hall
612-626-8213

allen030@umn.edu

Economic theory, information theory, game theory
Manuel Amador
Professor

4-187 Hanson Hall
612-624-4060

amador@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, international economics
Fahima Aziz
Senior Lecturer

4-145 Hanson Hall
612-626-9675

azizx002@umn.edu

Environmental economics, poverty and income inequality, scholarship of teaching and learning

Anmol Bhandari
Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Admissions

4-157 Hanson Hall
612-624-2816

bhandari@umn.edu

Macroeconomics

V. V. Chari
Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

4-191 Hanson Hall
612-626-7151

chari002@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, fiscal and monetary policy, financial intermediation
Rachel Croson
Executive Vice President and Provost
provost@umn.edu Microeconomics, behavioral/experimental economics, game theory

Mariacristina De Nardi
Professor

Thomas Sargent Professor of Economics

4-169 Hanson Hall
612-624-1978

denar001@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, public economics, household finance, wealth distribution, savings, social security, social insurance reform, and human capital

Fatih Guvenen
Professor
Carlson Professor of Economics

Director, Minnesota Economics Big Data Institute (MEBDI)

4-177 Hanson Hall
612-625-0767

guvenen@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, labor economics, financial economics
Kyle Herkenhoff
Associate Professor

4-143 Hanson Hall
612-624-4558

kfh@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, applied macroeconomics, labor economics

Thomas J. Holmes
Professor 

Department Chair

4-135 Hanson Hall
612-625-4512

holmes@umn.edu

Industrial organization, urban economics, and applied microeconomics

Larry E. Jones
Professor

 

4-159 Hanson Hall
612-624-4553

lej@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, public finance, growth and development
Loukas Karabarbounis
Professor

4-185 Hanson Hall
612-625-7504

loukas@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, labor economics, and international finance
Timothy Kehoe
Professor

4-175 Hanson Hall
612-625-1589

tkehoe@umn.edu

International trade, public finance
Jeremy Lise
Carter-Schwab Professor of Economics

4-137 Hanson Hall
612-625-0941

jlise@umn.edu

Intra-Household Allocation, Equilibrium Labor Search, Inequality
Erzo Luttmer
Professor

4-179 Hanson Hall
612-625-5054

luttmer@umn.edu

Financial economics, industrial organization growth, macroeconomics
Hannes Malmberg
Assistant Professor

4-151 Hanson Hall
612-301-7109

pmalmber@umn.edu

Macroeconomics of economic development

Ellen McGrattan
Professor

 

4-161 Hanson Hall
612-625-6714

erm@umn.edu

Macroeconomics, monetary and fiscal policy, international finance
Joseph Mullins
Assistant Professor

4-133 Hanson Hall
612-625-7858

mullinsj@umn.edu

Labor economics, inequity, human capital formation
Amil Petrin
Professor

4-125 Hanson Hall
612-625-0145

petrin@umn.edu

Econometrics, industrial organization
Christopher Phelan
Professor

4-189 Hanson Hall
612-626-2533

cphelan@umn.edu

Monetary economics, public economics
David Rahman
Associate Professor

4-127 Hanson Hall
612-625-3525

dmr@umn.edu

Economic theory, mathematical economics
Aldo Rustichini
Professor

4-149 Hanson Hall
612-625-4816

rusti001@umn.edu

Economic theory, economic dynamics
Ayca Ozdogan
Director of Undergraduate Studies

4-101 Hanson Hall
612-625-6353

ozdog002@umn.edu

 

Kjetil Storesletten
Fink Professor of Economics

Director, Heller Hurwicz Economics Institute

4-141 Hanson Hall
612-624-6084

kstoresl@umn.edu

Quantitative macro, political economy, labor economics, risk sharing, asset pricing, immigration
Jan Werner
Professor

4-139 Hanson Hall
612-625-0708

jwerner@umn.edu

Financial economics, economic theory

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty

Patrick Kehoe
Professor

Economics
Stanford University

pkehoe@stanford.edu International trade and finance

Elena Pastorino
Research Fellow

Hoover Institution Stanford University

epastori@stanford.edu Labor economics, applied microeconomics
Arthur Rolnick

 

arolnick@umn.edu Financial economics, monetary policy, economics of education

Joel Waldfogel
Professor

Carlson School of Management

4-131 Hanson Hall
612-624-4551
jwaldfog@umn.edu
Intellectual property, law and economics, industrial organization

Adjunct & Visiting Faculty

Name Contact Specialty

Cristina Arellano
Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

arellano.cristina@gmail.com International economics, macroeconomics

Adway De
Lecturer

Energy Economist, State of Minnesota

adway@umn.edu Environmental economics

Doireann Fitzgerald
Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

doireann.fitzgerald@gmail.com International economics
Terry  Fitzgerald
Adjunct Associate Professor
4-184 Hanson Hall
612-625-8035
fitz0042@umn.edu
Macroeconomics

Jonathan Heathcote
Adjunct Professor

Monetary Advisor, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

612-204-6385
heathcote@minneapolisfed.org
Labor economics, public economics

Thu-Mai Ho-Kim
Adjunct Lecturer

Senior Economic Analyst, State of Minnesota

hoki0001@umn.edu Economic development, international trade

Juan Pablo Nicolini
Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

juanpa@minneapolisfed.org Macroeconomics

James Schmitz, Jr.
Adjunct Professor

Senior Research Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

612-204-5482
jas@res.mlps.frb.fed.us
Economic growth, industrial organization

Jacob Strauss
Adjunct Lecturer

Energy Economist, State of Minnesota

strau345@umn.edu Energy economics

Emeritus Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Edward Foster
Professor Emeritus
foster@umn.edu Public economics, cost benefit analysis, environmental economics
Craig Swan
Professor Emeritus
swan@umn.edu Macroeconomics, housing policy