May 2024 Newsletter

Tree with pink leaves in foreground, students walking down Northrop Mall in background


What an active and exciting year we’ve had in the Department of Political Science! 

Our faculty engaged in significant public service and outreach. They offered insights to news outlets across the globe. They were also a part of critical conversations with other units here on campus, at other academic institutions, and in our community.

Members of our department were formally recognized for their hard work and dedication.


The students in our department continue to impress us with their hard work and dedication. We are proud of their commitment to persevere, gain new skills, and learn more about politics and the world during challenging times.

Finally, we want to share that Professors Scott Abernathy and John Freeman are retiring. We are grateful for their collective years of service at the University of Minnesota and will miss them dearly.

As the academic year comes to a close, please consider making a gift to our department. Your contributions support faculty research, undergraduate scholarships, and graduate student fellowships. Your generous gifts to the Department of Political Science help us maintain the distinguished reputation of our department, and better serve our students.


Andrew Karch
Department Chair

Share on: