Faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to the creation and transmission of knowledge about politics and political science. The department promotes original research, creative teaching, and public service in and outside the discipline of political science. 

We value distinguished disciplinary and interdisciplinary research, teaching, advising, publicly engaged scholarship, and civic education that disseminate knowledge and skills about politics and political science to widely diverse audiences.

The Department of Political Science draws upon visiting lecturers, scholars, and professors who bring their expertise in many areas of study. Graduate students come from all over the world and occupy a unique position as both students and graduate assistants/instructors who bring their diverse research interests to their teaching. Staff members with many years of experience provide professional support to faculty and students and offer unique research and internship opportunities. Together faculty, graduate students, and staff are dedicated to providing students with the support they need to learn and excel in today’s political world.

Core Faculty

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours Specialties
Scott Abernathy abernath@umn.edu 1246A Social Sciences Building 612-624-3308   Education policy & methods, education reform, bureaucracy 
Mark Bell msbell@umn.edu 1378 Social Sciences Building 612-626-2889 Virtual Only: Wednesday 12:00-2:00 PM International security, nuclear weapons, US foreign policy
Anuja Bose a-bose@umn.edu 1354 Social Sciences Building 612-625-8857 Virtual Only: Monday 12:00-4:00 PM and by appointment Black political thought, anti-colonial & anti-imperial thought, critical race and feminist theory
Teri Caraway
Director of Undergraduate Studies
caraway@umn.edu 1311 Social Sciences Building 612-624-3839 Virtual Only: Monday & Wednesday 5:00-6:00 PM Comparative political economy of labor, Southeast Asian politics, gender & comparative politics
John Coleman coleman@umn.edu 215 Johnston Hall 612-624-2535   Political parties, campaign finance, elections
Kathleen Collins colli433@umn.edu 1331 Social Sciences Building 612-626-1672

In-Person Only: Monday & Wednesday 11:00-11:30 AM in 215 Blegen

Wednesday 11:30am-1:00 PM in 1331 Social Sciences Building 

Also by appoitment

Islam & politics, soviet & post-soviet political development, Central Asia & the Caucus
Cosette Creamer ccreamer@umn.edu 1468 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0213 Virtual Only: Tuesday 12:30-2:30 PM International law & institutions, empirical legal studies, international trade, human rights
Tanisha Fazal fazal007@umn.edu 1333 Social Sciences Building 612-624-8261   Sovereignty, international law, armed conflict, medical care in conflict zones
Christopher Federico federico@umn.edu 1435 Social Sciences Building 612-625-7217 Virtual & In-Person: Tuesday & Thursday 10:30-11:30 AM and by appointment Political psychology, race & politics, quantitative methods
John Freeman freeman@umn.edu 1246B Social Sciences Building 612-624-6018   Political economy, international relations, methodology
Paul Goren
Department Chair
pgoren@umn.edu 1414A Social Sciences Building 612-624-1393 Virtual & In-Person: Tuesday & Thursday 12:30-1:30 PM and by appointment Political psychology, voting behavior, public opinion
Lisa Hilbink hilbink@umn.edu 1373 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0160

In-person: Wednesday    12:00-1:20 PM

Virtual: Thursday 5:00-6:00 PM

Comparative judicial politics & constitutionalism, Latin American & Iberian politics
James Hollyer jhollyer@umn.edu 1380 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0030 Virtual only: Tuesday 4:30-6:30 PM Patronage, corruption, transparency
Timothy R. Johnson trj@umn.edu 1433 Social Sciences Building 612-625-2907   Supreme Court oral arguments & decision making, executive/judiciary relations
Andrew Karch
Director of Graduate Studies
ajkarch@umn.edu 1211 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2537 Virtual only by appointment Determinants of public policy choices in American politics, federalism & state politics
Helen M Kinsella kins0017@umn.edu 1325 Social Sciences Building 612-625-6103 Virtual or outside, weather permitting, Tuesday 9:45-10:45 AM or by appointment International relations, international law, political theory, feminist theory
Ronald Krebs rkrebs@umn.edu 1233 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4356 Virtual only: Wednesday 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM International relations theory, causes & consequences of war, international security, armed forces & society
Howard Lavine lavine@umn.edu 1360 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1389

Virtual only   
Thursday 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Political psychology, partisanship, personality & politics
Nancy Luxon luxon@umn.edu 1350 Social Sciences Building 612-625-7982 Virtual & In-Person: Wednesday & Thursday 4:00-5:00pm Contemporary political & social theory, French political thought
Michael Minta mdminta@umn.edu 1337 Social Sciences Building 612-626-5632

Virtual & In-Person: Monday and Wednesday 10:00-11:00 AM or by appointment

Congressional politics, race and ethnic politics, interest group advocacy
C. Daniel Myers cdmyers@umn.edu 1474 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4078 In-Person: Tuesday & Thursday 2:30-3:30PM
Virtual: Wednesday 1:30-2:30 PM
American politics, political psychology, political communication, experimental methods, deliberative democracy
Robert Nichols rbnichol@umn.edu 1431 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2389 Virtual & In-Person: Tuesday 1:30-3:00 PM Modern political theory, indigeneity & settler colonialism, imperialism in political thought
August Nimtz animtz@umn.edu 1327 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1512 Virtual & In-Person: Tuesday & Thursday 4:45-6:15 PM Marxism, political economy, politics of race, class & ethnicity, African politics
Kathryn Pearson
Associate Chair
kpearson@umn.edu 1439 Social Sciences Building 612-626-2777 Virtual Only: Wednesday 12:00-2:00 PM and by appointment US Congress, women & politics, congressional elections
David J. Samuels dsamuels@umn.edu 1446 Social Sciences Building 612-624-9876 In-Person: Wednesday 9:30-11:30 AM
Virtual: By appointment
Brazilian & Latin American politics, U.S.-Latin American relations, democratization
Anoop Sarbahi sarbahi@umn.edu 1466 Social Sciences Building 612-624-8576   Ethnicity, civil war, post-conflict transition, counter-insurgency
Anurag Sinha asinha@umn.edu 1427 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1671    
Paul Soper

Director of Internships

psoper@umn.edu 1480 Social Sciences Building 612-626-1002 In-Person: Wednesday 9:00-11:00 AM
Virtual: By appointment
American political thought, state government
Jane Sumner jlsumner@umn.edu 1472 Social Sciences Building 612-626-7825 In-Person & outdoors, weather permitting, or Virtual: Tuesday 10:00-11:30 AM Quantitative methodology, political economy, multinational corporations

 

Affiliated Faculty & Department Members

 

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Eugene Borgida borgi001@umn.edu N387 Elliot Hall 612-625-3381  
Giovanna Dell'Orto dell0014@umn.edu 204 Murphy Hall 612-626-2951  
Christina Ewig cewig@umn.edu 255 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-625-1884  
Catherine Guisan guis0001@umn.edu 1282 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2569  
Zenzele Isoke isoke001@umn.edu 437 Ford Hall 612-626-8954  
Lawrence Jacobs ljacobs@umn.edu 137 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-625-3384  
Herbert Kritzer kritzer@umn.edu 326 Mondale Hall 612-626-4035  
Kati Mohammad-Zadeh moha0030@umn.edu 1375 Social Sciences Building 612-626-8910 Virtual: by appointment only
Fionnuala Ni Aolain niaol002@umn.edu 334 Mondale Hall 612-624-2318  
Francis X. Shen fxshen@umn.edu 330 Mondale Hall 612-625-5328  
Joe Soss jbsoss@umn.edu 261 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-626-9865  
Benjamin Toff bjtoff@umn.edu 227 Murphy Hall 612-625-4381  
Josef Woldense jwoldens@umn.edu 878 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0122 Virtual only: Monday & Wednesday 11:00 AM-12:00 PM

 

Emeriti Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
Raymond Duvall rduvall@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
William Flanigan flanigan@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Edwin Fogelman fogelman@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Virginia Gray   1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Daniel Kelliher kelliher@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Samuel Krislov   1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Wendy Rahn wrahn@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Martin Sampson marsam@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Thomas Scott scott001@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
W. Phillips Shively shively@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Kathryn Sikkink sikkink@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
John Sullivan jsull@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Joan Tronto jctronto@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395

Lecturers

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Joshua Anderson ande7715@umn.edu 1280 Social Sciences Building 612-625-3522 Virtual only: Monday & Wednesday 1:00-2:00 PM
Tim Collins tpcollin@umn.edu 1280 Social Sciences Building 612-625-3522 In-Person & Virtual: Monday & Wednesday 10:00-11:00am

 

Graduate Student Instructors

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Carl Graefe       In-person only: Tuesday & Thursday 1:00-2:00 PM