Faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to the creation and transmission of knowledge about politics and political science. The department promotes original research, creative teaching, and public service in and outside the discipline of political science. 

We value distinguished disciplinary and interdisciplinary research, teaching, advising, publicly engaged scholarship, and civic education that disseminate knowledge and skills about politics and political science to widely diverse audiences.

The Department of Political Science draws upon visiting lecturers, scholars, and professors who bring their expertise in many areas of study. Graduate students come from all over the world and occupy a unique position as both students and graduate assistants/instructors who bring their diverse research interests to their teaching. Staff members with many years of experience provide professional support to faculty and students and offer unique research and internship opportunities. Together faculty, graduate students, and staff are dedicated to providing students with the support they need to learn and excel in today’s political world.

Core Faculty

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours Specialties
Scott Abernathy abernath@umn.edu 1246A Social Sciences Building 612-624-3308 Not teaching Fall 2022 Education policy & methods, education reform, bureaucracy 
Mark Bell msbell@umn.edu 1378 Social Sciences Building 612-626-2889 Not teaching Fall 2022 International security, nuclear weapons, US foreign policy
Anuja Bose a-bose@umn.edu 1354 Social Sciences Building 612-625-8857 Not teaching Fall 2022 Black political thought, anti-colonial & anti-imperial thought, critical race and feminist theory
Teri Caraway
Director of Undergraduate Studies
caraway@umn.edu 1311 Social Sciences Building 612-624-3839

Virtual and In-Person: Monday, Wednesday 5:30-6pm; Tuesday 5-6pm 

Comparative political economy of labor, Southeast Asian politics, gender & comparative politics
John Coleman coleman@umn.edu 215 Johnston Hall 612-624-2535 Not teaching Fall 2022 Political parties, campaign finance, elections
Kathleen Collins colli433@umn.edu 1224 Social Sciences Building 612-626-7489

Not teaching Fall 2022

Islam & politics, soviet & post-soviet political development, Central Asia & the Caucus
Cosette Creamer ccreamer@umn.edu 1468 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0213 Virtual only: Tuesday, Thursday 11am-12pm International law & institutions, empirical legal studies, international trade, human rights
Arash Davari davar008@umn.edu 1231 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0862 Virtual: Tuesday, Thursday 4-5pm; or by appointment  

Tanisha Fazal
Associate Chair

fazal007@umn.edu 1333 Social Sciences Building 612-624-8261 Not teaching Fall 2022 Sovereignty, international law, armed conflict, medical care in conflict zones
Christopher Federico federico@umn.edu 1435 Social Sciences Building 612-625-7217 Virtual only: Friday 1-2:30pm Political psychology, race & politics, quantitative methods
John Freeman freeman@umn.edu 1246B Social Sciences Building 612-624-6018 Not teaching Fall 2022 Political economy, international relations, methodology
Paul Goren
 
pgoren@umn.edu 1414A Social Sciences Building 612-624-1393 Not teaching Fall 2022 Political psychology, voting behavior, public opinion
Lisa Hilbink hilbink@umn.edu 1373 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0160

In-Person: Wednesday 1-2:15pm; Virtual: Thursday 5-6pm

Comparative judicial politics & constitutionalism, Latin American & Iberian politics
James Hollyer jhollyer@umn.edu 1380 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0030 Virtual and In-Person: Wednesday 4:15-6:15pm Patronage, corruption, transparency
Timothy R. Johnson trj@umn.edu 1433 Social Sciences Building 612-625-2907 In-Person: Tuesday, Thursday 7-8am; or by appointment Supreme Court oral arguments & decision making, executive/judiciary relations
Andrew Karch
Department Chair
ajkarch@umn.edu 1414A Social Sciences Building 612-624-1393 In-Person: Wednesday 9:30-10:30am; or by appointment Determinants of public policy choices in American politics, federalism & state politics
Helen M Kinsella kins0017@umn.edu 1325 Social Sciences Building 612-625-6103 Not teaching Fall 2022 International relations, international law, political theory, feminist theory
Ronald Krebs rkrebs@umn.edu 1233 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4356 Virtual and In-Person: Tuesday 11:15am-1:15pm (sign up on Canvas) International relations theory, causes & consequences of war, international security, armed forces & society
Howard Lavine lavine@umn.edu 1360 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1389

Virtual or In-Person: Friday 11am-12:30pm; or by appointment

Political psychology, partisanship, personality & politics
Nancy Luxon luxon@umn.edu 1350 Social Sciences Building 612-625-7982 In-Person: Tuesday 11am-1pm; or by appointment Contemporary political & social theory, French political thought

Michael Minta
Director of Graduate Studies

mdminta@umn.edu 1337 Social Sciences Building 612-626-5632

Monday, Wednesday 10-11am

Congressional politics, race and ethnic politics, interest group advocacy
C. Daniel Myers cdmyers@umn.edu 1309 Social Sciences Building 612-626-8938 Not teaching Fall 2022 American politics, political psychology, political communication, experimental methods, deliberative democracy
Robert Nichols rbnichol@umn.edu 1431 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2389 Virtual or In-Person: Monday 1:30-3pm Modern political theory, indigeneity & settler colonialism, imperialism in political thought
August Nimtz animtz@umn.edu 1327 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1512 Virtual or In-Person: Tuesday, Thursday 5-6:15pm Marxism, political economy, politics of race, class & ethnicity, African politics
Kathryn Pearson kpearson@umn.edu 1439 Social Sciences Building 612-626-2777 Virtual: Monday 12-2pm US Congress, women & politics, congressional elections
David J. Samuels dsamuels@umn.edu 1446 Social Sciences Building 612-624-9876 In-Person: Tuesday, Thursday 10-11am Brazilian & Latin American politics, U.S.-Latin American relations, democratization
Anoop Sarbahi sarbahi@umn.edu 1466 Social Sciences Building 612-624-8576 Virtual: Monday, Wednesday 11am-12pm  Ethnicity, civil war, post-conflict transition, counter-insurgency
Anurag Sinha asinha@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4305 Virtual and In-Person: Wednesday, Friday 11:30am-12:30pm  
Paul Soper

Director of Internships

psoper@umn.edu 1480 Social Sciences Building 612-626-1002 In-Person: Wednesday 9-11am American political thought, state government
Jane Sumner jlsumner@umn.edu 1472 Social Sciences Building 612-626-7825 In-Person (except by appointment): Tuesday, Thursday 1:15-2:15pm Quantitative methodology, political economy, multinational corporations

Affiliated Faculty & Department Members

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Eugene Borgida borgi001@umn.edu N387 Elliot Hall 612-625-3381 Virtual or In-Person: Wednesday 3-5pm; or by appointment
Christina Ewig cewig@umn.edu 255 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-625-1884  
Catherine Guisan guis0001@umn.edu 1282 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2569 No PoliSci Classes Fall 2022
Zenzele Isoke isoke001@umn.edu 437 Ford Hall 612-626-8954 By appointment
Lawrence Jacobs ljacobs@umn.edu 137 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-625-3384 No PoliSci Classes Fall 2022
Fionnuala Ni Aolain niaol002@umn.edu 334 Mondale Hall 612-624-2318  
Francis X. Shen fxshen@umn.edu 330 Mondale Hall 612-625-5328  
Joe Soss jbsoss@umn.edu 261 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-626-9865 No PoliSci Classes Fall 2022
Benjamin Toff bjtoff@umn.edu 227 Murphy Hall 612-625-4381 No PoliSci Classes Fall 2022
Josef Woldense jwoldens@umn.edu 878 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0122 Virtual: Monday, Wednesday 11am-12pm

Emeriti Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
Raymond Duvall rduvall@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
William Flanigan flanigan@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Edwin Fogelman fogelman@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Virginia Gray N/A 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Daniel Kelliher kelliher@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Samuel Krislov N/A 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Wendy Rahn wrahn@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Martin Sampson marsam@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Thomas Scott scott001@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
W. Phillips Shively shively@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Kathryn Sikkink sikkink@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
John Sullivan jsull@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Joan Tronto jctronto@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395

Lecturers

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Timothy Collins tpcollin@umn.edu 1427 Social Sciences Building 612-625-3533 310 Anderson: Tuesday, Thursday 12-1pm

Graduate Student Instructors

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Tracey Blasenheim

blase016@umn.edu

733 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0908

Virtual and In-Person: Tuesday 12:30-2pm; Thursday 10-11:30am; or by appointment

Zeke Wright wrig0599@umn.edu

1368 Social Sciences Building

NA Monday, Wednesday 3-4pm

Teaching Assistants

Class TA(s) and Available Office Hours
POL 1001

Caitlyn Barrett: Monday, Wednesday 10-11am (736 Social Sciences Building)

Jeeyon Choi: Tuesday 10am-12pm (Virtual)

POL 1025

Dongwook Kim: Wednesday 12:30-2:30 (Virtual)

POL 1026 Yoonsoo Kim: Tuesday, Thursday 10-11am (Virtual or 1208 Social Sciences Building)
POL 1054 Julia Walker: Monday, Wednesday 12-1pm (736 Social Sciences Building)
POL 1201

Matthew Kornberg: Tuesday, Thursday 3:30-4:30pm (Virtual or 748 Social Sciences Building)

Luke Freeman: Wednesday 11:30am-12:30pm; Thursday 11am-12pm (Virtual or Wilson Library Cafe)

POL 3085 Jack Sewpersaud: Wednesday 11am-1pm (Virtual)
POL 3225 Drew Hogan: Monday 3:30-4:30pm (Virtual)
POL 3235W Adam Le: Tuesday, Thursday 1-2pm (Virtual)
POL 3306 Yakasah Wehyee: Monday, Wednesday 12:30-1:30pm; or by appointment (748 Social Sciences)
POL 3308 Helen Kuhn: Monday, Wednesday 8-9am (Virtual)
POL 3309 Sam Sipprell: Monday, Tuesday 4:15-5:15pm (736 Social Sciences Building)
POL 3323 Linda Parranto: Tuesday 2:30-3:30pm (Virtual or 1214 Social Sciences Building)
POL 3325 Leah Costik: Wednesday 9-11am (Virtual)
POL 3423 Yoonsoo Kim: Tuesday, Thursday 10-11am (Virtual or 1208 Social Sciences Building)
POL 3733 Patrick McCormick: Wednesday 2-4pm (Virtual)
POL 3766 Yakasah Wehyee: Monday, Wednesday 12:30-1:30pm; or by appointment (748 Social Sciences)
POL 3835 Berika Ozcan: Wednesday 1-3pm (Virtual)
POL 4478W Ezgi Ozcelik: Tuesday 11:30am-12:30pm, 2:30-3:30pm (Virtual or 737 Social Sciences Building)
POL 4492 Peter Suwanpong: Wednesday 4:30-5:30pm (748 Social Sciences Building)
POL 4501W Minyoung Kim: Monday, Wednesday 1-3pm; or by appointment (Virtual)
POL 4885W

Tracey Blasenheim (until Oct. 9th): Tuesday 12:30-2pm; Thursday 10-11:30am; or by appointment (733 Social Sciences Building)

Daniela Sepulveda: Thursday 1-3pm (Virtual)

POL 4887 Ezgi Ozcelik: Tuesday 11:30am-12:30pm, 2:30-3:30pm (Virtual or 737 Social Sciences Building)
POL 4991 Sinan Silsuper: Tuesday 12:45-2:15pm; or by appointment (Virtual or 1214 Social Sciences Building)