Faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to the creation and transmission of knowledge about politics and political science. The department promotes original research, creative teaching, and public service in and outside the discipline of political science. 

We value distinguished disciplinary and interdisciplinary research, teaching, advising, publicly engaged scholarship, and civic education that disseminate knowledge and skills about politics and political science to widely diverse audiences.

The Department of Political Science draws upon visiting lecturers, scholars, and professors who bring their expertise in many areas of study. Graduate students come from all over the world and occupy a unique position as both students and graduate assistants/instructors who bring their diverse research interests to their teaching. Staff members with many years of experience provide professional support to faculty and students and offer unique research and internship opportunities. Together faculty, graduate students, and staff are dedicated to providing students with the support they need to learn and excel in today’s political world.

Core Faculty

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours Specialties
Scott Abernathy abernath@umn.edu 1246A Social Sciences Building 612-624-3308 In-person only: Monday 2:30-4:00pm Education policy & methods, education reform, bureaucracy 
Mark Bell msbell@umn.edu 1378 Social Sciences Building 612-626-2889   International security, nuclear weapons, US foreign policy
Anuja Bose a-bose@umn.edu 1354 Social Sciences Building 612-625-8857 Virtual only: Monday 12:00-4:00pm Black political thought, anti-colonial & anti-imperial thought, critical race and feminist theory
Teri Caraway
Director of Undergraduate Studies
caraway@umn.edu 1311 Social Sciences Building 612-624-3839 Virtual only: By appointment only Comparative political economy of labor, Southeast Asian politics, gender & comparative politics
John Coleman coleman@umn.edu 215 Johnston Hall 612-624-2535   Political parties, campaign finance, elections
Kathleen Collins colli433@umn.edu 1331 Social Sciences Building 612-626-1672

Monday, Wednesday 11:00am-1:30pm in Carlson Lobby after 4474W; Tuesday, Thursday 11:00am-1:30pm after 3475, space TBD; or by appointment

Islam & politics, soviet & post-soviet political development, Central Asia & the Caucus
Cosette Creamer ccreamer@umn.edu 1468 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0213 Virtual only: Tuesday 3:00-4:00pm, Wednesday 4:00-5:00pm International law & institutions, empirical legal studies, international trade, human rights
Tanisha Fazal fazal007@umn.edu 1333 Social Sciences Building 612-624-8261   Sovereignty, international law, armed conflict, medical care in conflict zones
Christopher Federico federico@umn.edu 1435 Social Sciences Building 612-625-7217   Political psychology, race & politics, quantitative methods
John Freeman freeman@umn.edu 1246B Social Sciences Building 612-624-6018   Political economy, international relations, methodology
Paul Goren
 
pgoren@umn.edu 1414A Social Sciences Building 612-624-1393 Virtual or in-person: Thursday 1:30-3:00pm or by appointment Political psychology, voting behavior, public opinion
Lisa Hilbink hilbink@umn.edu 1373 Social Sciences Building 612-626-0160

Tuesday 5:00-6:00pm (virtual); Wednesday 12:00-1:20pm (in-person) or by appointment

Comparative judicial politics & constitutionalism, Latin American & Iberian politics
James Hollyer jhollyer@umn.edu 1380 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0030   Patronage, corruption, transparency
Timothy R. Johnson trj@umn.edu 1433 Social Sciences Building 612-625-2907 By appointment only Supreme Court oral arguments & decision making, executive/judiciary relations
Andrew Karch
Department Chair
ajkarch@umn.edu 1211 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2537 Virtual and in-person: Monday and Wednesday 11:15am-12:15pm Determinants of public policy choices in American politics, federalism & state politics
Helen M Kinsella kins0017@umn.edu 1325 Social Sciences Building 612-625-6103 Virtual or in-person: By appointment only International relations, international law, political theory, feminist theory
Ronald Krebs rkrebs@umn.edu 1233 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4356 Virtual only: Wednesday 9:00-11:00am International relations theory, causes & consequences of war, international security, armed forces & society
Howard Lavine lavine@umn.edu 1360 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1389

 

Political psychology, partisanship, personality & politics
Nancy Luxon luxon@umn.edu 1350 Social Sciences Building 612-625-7982 Monday 12:30-1:30pm (virtual); Wednesday 12:30-1:30pm (in-person) Contemporary political & social theory, French political thought

Michael Minta
Director of Graduate Studies

mdminta@umn.edu 1337 Social Sciences Building 612-626-5632

Virtual and in-person: Tuesday, Thursday 10:00-11:00am or by appointment

Congressional politics, race and ethnic politics, interest group advocacy
C. Daniel Myers cdmyers@umn.edu 1474 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4078 Virtual only: Monday and Friday 1:00-2:30pm and 3:45-4:30pm, Tuesday and Thursday 1:00-2:00pm American politics, political psychology, political communication, experimental methods, deliberative democracy
Robert Nichols rbnichol@umn.edu 1431 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2389 Virtual or in-person: Monday 1:00-2:30pm Modern political theory, indigeneity & settler colonialism, imperialism in political thought
August Nimtz animtz@umn.edu 1327 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1512 In-person only: Wednesday and Thursday 5:00-6:15pm Marxism, political economy, politics of race, class & ethnicity, African politics
Kathryn Pearson
Associate Chair
kpearson@umn.edu 1439 Social Sciences Building 612-626-2777   US Congress, women & politics, congressional elections
David J. Samuels dsamuels@umn.edu 1446 Social Sciences Building 612-624-9876   Brazilian & Latin American politics, U.S.-Latin American relations, democratization
Anoop Sarbahi sarbahi@umn.edu 1466 Social Sciences Building 612-624-8576 Virtual only: Monday and Wednesday 11:00am-12:00pm or by appointment  Ethnicity, civil war, post-conflict transition, counter-insurgency
Anurag Sinha asinha@umn.edu 1427 Social Sciences Building 612-624-1671    
Paul Soper

Director of Internships

psoper@umn.edu 1480 Social Sciences Building 612-626-1002 Virtual and in-person: Wednesday and Friday 11:00am-12:00pm or by appointment American political thought, state government
Jane Sumner jlsumner@umn.edu 1472 Social Sciences Building 612-626-7825 Virtual or in-person: Tuesday 2:30-4:00pm Quantitative methodology, political economy, multinational corporations

 

Affiliated Faculty & Department Members

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Eugene Borgida borgi001@umn.edu N387 Elliot Hall 612-625-3381  
Giovanna Dell'Orto dell0014@umn.edu 204 Murphy Hall 612-626-2951  
Christina Ewig cewig@umn.edu 255 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-625-1884  
Catherine Guisan guis0001@umn.edu 1282 Social Sciences Building 612-624-2569  
Zenzele Isoke isoke001@umn.edu 437 Ford Hall 612-626-8954  
Lawrence Jacobs ljacobs@umn.edu 137 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-625-3384  
Herbert Kritzer kritzer@umn.edu 326 Mondale Hall 612-626-4035  
Kati Mohammad-Zadeh moha0030@umn.edu 1375 Social Sciences Building 612-626-8910  
Fionnuala Ni Aolain niaol002@umn.edu 334 Mondale Hall 612-624-2318  
Francis X. Shen fxshen@umn.edu 330 Mondale Hall 612-625-5328  
Joe Soss jbsoss@umn.edu 261 Humphrey School of Public Affairs 612-626-9865  
Benjamin Toff bjtoff@umn.edu 227 Murphy Hall 612-625-4381  
Josef Woldense jwoldens@umn.edu 878 Social Sciences Building 612-624-0122 Virtual only: Monday and Wednesday 11:00am-12:00pm

 

Emeriti Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
Raymond Duvall rduvall@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
William Flanigan flanigan@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Edwin Fogelman fogelman@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Virginia Gray   1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Daniel Kelliher kelliher@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Samuel Krislov   1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Wendy Rahn wrahn@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Martin Sampson marsam@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Thomas Scott scott001@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
W. Phillips Shively shively@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Kathryn Sikkink sikkink@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
John Sullivan jsull@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
Joan Tronto jctronto@umn.edu 1460 Social Sciences Building 612-624-4395
       

Lecturers

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Isak Tranvik itranvik@gmail.com     In-person: Thursday 11:30-1:30 or by appointment on zoom 

 

Graduate Student Instructors

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Ibrahim Oker

oker0030@umn.edu

   

Virtual: Tuesday 3:30-5 

Zeke Wright wrig0599@umn.edu

 

  Virtual: Monday 12-2 or by appointment