You are here

Faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to instilling in students the skills necessary to study humans and further develop our knowledge of humanity.

Our department has seventeen full-time faculty members. All of our faculty members conduct anthropology-centered interdisciplinary research. Together, their work encompasses subjects in all four fields of anthropology: archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistic anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Faculty

Name Contact
William Beeman
Department Chair
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
wbeeman@umn.edu
Stephen Gudeman
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-3890
gudeman@umn.edu
Katherine Hayes
Associate Professor
386 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-7482
kathayes@umn.edu
Karen Ho
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
karenho@umn.edu
Jean Langford
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-4092
langf001@umn.edu
David Lipset
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-8657
lipse001@umn.edu
Stuart McLean
Associate Professor
375 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-8944
mclea070@umn.edu
Kieran McNulty
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor
383 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-0058
kmcnulty@umn.edu
Gilliane Monnier
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-4846
monni003@umn.edu
Gloria Goodwin Raheja
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-8547
raheja@umn.edu
Hoon Song
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-8980
songx080@umn.edu
Martha Tappen
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-3087
tappe004@umn.edu
Karen-Sue Taussig
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
taussig@umn.edu
Gilbert Tostevin
Associate Professor
379 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-5542
toste003@umn.edu
David Valentine
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
364 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-8692
valen076@umn.edu
Peter Wells
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
Michael Wilson
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-1376
wilso198@umn.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Name Contact
Timothy Dunnigan
Professor Emeritus
dunni001@umn.edu
Luther Gerlach
Professor Emeritus
gerla001@umn.edu
Guy Gibbon
Professor Emeritus
gibbo001@umn.edu
John Ingham
Professor Emeritus
ingha001@umn.edu
Frank Miller
Professor Emeritus
mille005@umn.edu
Eugene Ogan
Professor Emeritus
 
Mischa Penn
Professor Emeritus
pennx001@umn.edu

Affiliated Researchers

Name Contact
Katherine Erdman
Visiting Scholar
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
erdma084@umn.edu
Ellery Frahm
Post-Doctoral Associate
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
frah0010@umn.edu