Graduate Students

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, staff in the Department of Communication studies are working remotely. For assistance, please contact or the appropriate staff member via email.  

Name Specialty
Jasmine Baxter Critical media studies; rhetorical studies; feminist/critical gender and sexuality studies
Caroline Bayne Feminist media; television studies 
Cate Bruns Environmental communication; discourse analysis; rhetoric; advocacy
Kristen Einertson  
Rhetorical studies; critical media studies
Critical media studies; fans and audiences; game studies; popular culture
Jay Frank Rhetorical studies
Grace Geier Olive Rhetorical studies

Bill Heinze 

Amy Joyer Interpersonal Communication; Interviewing; Nonverbal Communication; relationship repair and apology acts; communication development within Child Psychology 
Rhetorical studies; argumentation
Jack Lassiter  
Joshua Morrison Critical media studies; critical celebrity studies 
Critical media studies; feminist and critical sexuality studies; postcolonial and decolonial thought; Islamic studies; economic anthropology
Vanessa Nyarko Critical media studies; visual communication; global communication; popular culture
Selena Palomino Rhetorical Studies 
Sean Quartz Rhetorical theory and criticism; environmental communication; instructional communication; natural resource conflict resolution; new materialism
Organizational communication; feminist & gender studies; care theory; affect theory
Michael Tahmoressi  
Critical media studies; online social movements; gender & gun politics
Sylvia Vue  
Natalie Warren Environmental communication
Jules Wight Critical media studies
Megan Yahnke Critical media studies