Workshops

Amplyfying Divere Voices Educator Curriculum Development

This professional development program, funded by the African Studies Initiative Title VI National Resource Center at the Institute for Global Studies at the University of MInnesota, will support 10 educators to attend three Saturdays sessions  for 2 hours each (tentative dates January 28, February 4, and February 25,2023 )  to discuss African themed books and write lessons based on those books.  Books include

1. Africa is Not a Country by written by local authors Margy Burns Knight and Mark Melnikov also published locally by Millbrook Press in Minneapolis

2. African Proverbs: For All Ages collected by Johnnetta Betsch Cole and Nelda La Teef

3. The Water Princess by Susan Verde.

4. Red Shoes: A Dazzling Journey by Karen English

5. Anna Hibiscus! by Atinuke 

6. Here Comes Lolo by Niki Daly

Meetings will be held at metro area library.  Final completed lessons will be shared on IGS Educator Resources website after which those educators will receive a $200 stipend for their commitment to increasing African content in Minnesota classrooms.  Sessions will be led by Somali author Marian Hassan who is also the editor of the Crossroads: An Anthology of Resistance and Hope by Young Somali Authors

Applications for this project open December 1, 2022.  Applicants accepted on rolling basis until full.

Apply here

 

2023 Global Studies Virtual Symposium

The Global Studies Virtual Symposium connects global studies scholars across community college campuses nationwide and offers an engaging teaching and learning forum for sharing best practices, ideas, and resources with colleagues. This virtual, one-day conference includes presentations that focus on global perspectives, sustainable development, strategic leadership, and civic engagement, as well as opportunity for participants to share highlights from respective campus global studies program/courses. The Global Studies Virtual Symposium is offered at no cost to participants and is open to higher education faculty, staff, and scholars. K-12 and community education educators wishing to attend welcome as well and will receive a clock hours certificate.

 

DATE: Friday, April 21, 2023

TIME: 9:45am-2:15pm (Pacific)

10:45am-3:15pm (Mountain)

11:45am-4:15pm (Central)

12:45am-5:15pm (Eastern)

LOCATION: Virtual Symposium (Zoom)

REGISTER (required for zoom link) TBD

Schedule TBD

Sponsored by Title VI National Resource Centers at the Institute for Global Studies (IGS) - University of Minnesota and the Center for Global Studies (CGS) - The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies, University of Washington, in collaboration with Green River College and South Central College.