You are here

Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Brian Bix
Professor
871 Heller Hall
N212 Mondale Hall
612-624-2505
bixxx002@umn.edu
Legal philosophy, philosophy of language, moral and political philosophy
Roy T. Cook
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
869 Heller Hall
612-625-8379
cookx432@umn.edu
Philosophy of logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mathematics, aesthetics of popular art, 17th century philosophy
Tamara Fakhoury
Assistant Professor
858 Heller Hall
612-625-4072
fakho011@umn.edu
Ethics, social and political philosophy, ancient greek philosophy, feminist philosophy
Samuel C. Fletcher
Assistant Professor
754 Heller Hall
612-625-4325
scfletch@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, philosophy of statistics
Jessica Gordon-Roth
Assistant Professor
817 Heller Hall
612-625-9549
gordo216@umn.edu
History of early modern philosophy, feminist philosophy
Peter Hanks
Professor
868 Heller Hall
612-624-6415
pwhanks@umn.edu
Philosophy of language, history of analytic philosophy
Geoffrey Hellman
Professor
873 Heller Hall
612-625-8201
hellm001@umn.edu
Philosophy of mathematics and logic, philosophy of natural science, aesthetics
Sarah Holtman
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
815 Heller Hall
612-626-1764
holtm001@umn.edu
Ethics, political philosophy, philosophy of law
Michael Kac
Professor
812 Heller Hall
612-625-1865
kacxx001@umn.edu
Linguistics, cognitive science, philosophy of language, philosophy of music
Alan Love
John M. Dolan Professor of Philosophy
Professor
Director of Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science
735 Heller Hall
612-625-4510
aclove@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of science, history of biology, epistemology
Michelle Mason Bizri
Associate Professor
819 Heller Hall
612-625-9549
mason043@umn.edu
Ethics, moral psychology, practical reason, aesthetics
Michael Bennett McNulty
Assistant Professor
805 Heller Hall
612-624-5210
mcnu0074@umn.edu
Kant, history and philosophy of science, history and philosophy of mathematics
Joseph Owens
Professor
808 Heller Hall
612-625-0851
owens002@umn.edu
Philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, metaphysics
David Taylor
Assistant Professor
854 Heller Hall
612-625-9304
detaylor@umn.edu
Philosophy of language, metaphysics, history of analytic philosophy
Valerie Tiberius
Department Chair
Professor
845 Heller Hall
612-625-0038
tiberius@umn.edu
Ethics, moral psychology, well-being and wisdom
Jos Uffink
Professor
749 Heller Hall
612-625-5316
jbuffink@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, history of physics

President's Postdoctoral Fellow

Name Contact Specialty
Catharine (Cat) Saint-Croix 761 Heller Hall
612-625-6563
csaintx@umn.edu
Epistemology; philosophy of language; logic; feminist philosophy

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Debra DeBruin
Center for Bioethics
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine
504 Boynton Health Service
612-624-9687
debru004@umn.edu
Bioethics
Carl Elliott
Professor
Center for Bioethics
N504 Boynton Health Service
612-626-5347
ellio023@umn.edu
Philosophical and ethical questions in psychiatry and pediatrics
Benjamin McMyler
Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy, Texas A&M University
mcmyl002@umn.edu Epistemology, philosophy of mind, social and political philosophy
Mathias Rothe
Associate Professor, Department of German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch
328G Folwell Hall
612-625-9034
mrothe@umn.edu
18th century political philosophy, philosophical and literary presentability of economic practices, Brechtian and contemporary theater
William Wimsatt
Professor Emeritus, Department of Philosophy, University of Chicago
751 Heller Halll
612-626-5321
wwim@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of psychology, philosophy of social science, history of biology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Norman Dahl
Professor Emeritus
dahlx005@umn.edu Moral philosophy, ancient philosophy
Marcia Eaton
Professor Emerita
eaton001@umn.edu Aesthetics
Ronald Giere
Professor Emeritus
giere@umn.edu Philosophy of science
William Hanson
Professor Emeritus
whanson@umn.edu Logic, philosophy of logic
Jasper Hopkins
Professor Emeritus
hopkins@umn.edu Ancient and medieval philosophy, philosophy of religion, medical ethics
Douglas Lewis
Professor Emeritus
lewis002@umn.edu 17th and 18th century philosophy, metaphysics
Sandra Peterson
Professor Emerita
peter009@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, moral philosophy
Michael Root
Professor Emeritus
rootx001@umn.edu Metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of social science
Wade Savage
Professor Emeritus
savag001@umn.edu Philosophy of science, epistemology, philosophy of psychology
Naomi Scheman
Professor Emerita
nschema@umn.edu Feminist theory, philosophy of mind, theory of criticism
John Wallace
Professor Emeritus
walla003@umn.edu Philosophy of language, political philosophy, philosophy of education

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty