Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Brian Bix
Professor
871 Heller Hall
N212 Mondale Hall
612-624-2505
bix@umn.edu
Legal philosophy, philosophy of language, moral and political philosophy
Roy T. Cook
Professor
Co-Director of Graduate Studies
869 Heller Hall
612-625-8379
cookx432@umn.edu
Philosophy of logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mathematics, aesthetics of popular art, 17th century philosophy
Carl Elliott
Professor
758 Heller Hall
ellio023@umn.edu
Bioethics and medical humanities
Tamara Fakhoury
Assistant Professor
858 Heller Hall
612-625-4072
fakho011@umn.edu
Ethics, social and political philosophy, ancient greek philosophy, feminist philosophy
Samuel C. Fletcher
Assistant Professor
McKnight Land-Grant Professor 2020-2022
754 Heller Hall
612-625-4325
scfletch@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, philosophy of statistics
Jessica Gordon-Roth
Associate Professor
Co-Director of Graduate Studies
McKnight Land-Grant Professor 2019-2021
817 Heller Hall
612-625-9549
gordo216@umn.edu
History of early modern philosophy, feminist philosophy
Peter Hanks
Professor
Department Chair
845 Heller Hall
612-624-6415
pwhanks@umn.edu
Philosophy of language, history of analytic philosophy
Sarah Holtman
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
815 Heller Hall
612-626-1764
holtm001@umn.edu
Ethics, political philosophy, philosophy of law
Michael Kac
Professor
812 Heller Hall
612-625-1865
kacxx001@umn.edu
Linguistics, cognitive science, philosophy of language, philosophy of music

Dwight K Lewis, Jr.
Assistant Professor

817 Heller Hall
612-625-6563
lewi1715@umn.edu

History of early modern philosophy, philosophy of race, and Africana philosophy, with a focus on the philosophy of Anton Willhelm Amo (c.1700-c.1750)

Alan Love
John M. Dolan Professor of Philosophy
Professor
Director of Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science
735 Heller Hall
612-625-4510
aclove@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of science, history of biology, epistemology
Michelle Mason Bizri
Associate Professor
819 Heller Hall
612-625-9549
mason043@umn.edu
Ethics, moral psychology, practical reason, aesthetics
Michael Bennett McNulty
Assistant Professor
805 Heller Hall
612-624-5210
mcnu0074@umn.edu
Kant, history and philosophy of science, history and philosophy of mathematics
Catharine (Cat) Saint-Croix
Assistant Professor
761 Heller Hall
612-625-6563
csaintx@umn.edu
Epistemology; philosophy of language; logic; feminist philosophy
David Taylor
Assistant Professor
854 Heller Hall
612-625-9304
detaylor@umn.edu
Philosophy of language, metaphysics, history of analytic philosophy
Valerie Tiberius
Professor
873 Heller Hall
612-625-0038
tiberius@umn.edu
Ethics, moral psychology, well-being and wisdom
Jos Uffink
Professor
749 Heller Hall
612-625-5316
jbuffink@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, history of physics

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Debra DeBruin
Center for Bioethics
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine
504 Boynton Health Service
612-624-9687
debru004@umn.edu
Bioethics
Benjamin McMyler
Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy, Texas A&M University
mcmyl002@umn.edu Epistemology, philosophy of mind, social and political philosophy
Mathias Rothe
Associate Professor, Department of German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch
328G Folwell Hall
612-625-9034
mrothe@umn.edu
18th century political philosophy, philosophical and literary presentability of economic practices, Brechtian and contemporary theater
William Wimsatt
Professor Emeritus, Department of Philosophy, University of Chicago
751 Heller Halll
612-626-5321
wwim@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of psychology, philosophy of social science, history of biology

Faculty Emeriti

Name Contact Specialty
Norman Dahl
Professor Emeritus
dahlx005@umn.edu Moral philosophy, ancient philosophy
Marcia Eaton
Professor Emerita
eaton001@umn.edu Aesthetics
William Hanson
Professor Emeritus
whanson@umn.edu Logic, philosophy of logic
Geoffrey Hellman
Professor Emeritus
hellm001@umn.edu Philosophy of mathematics and logic, philosophy of natural science, aesthetics
Jasper Hopkins
Professor Emeritus
hopkins@umn.edu Ancient and medieval philosophy, philosophy of religion, medical ethics
Douglas Lewis
Professor Emeritus
lewis002@umn.edu 17th and 18th century philosophy, metaphysics
Joseph Owens
Professor Emeritus
owens002@umn.edu Philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, metaphysics
Sandra Peterson
Professor Emerita
peter009@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, moral philosophy
Michael Root
Professor Emeritus
rootx001@umn.edu Metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of social science
Naomi Scheman
Professor Emerita
nschema@umn.edu Feminist theory, philosophy of mind, theory of criticism
John Wallace
Professor Emeritus
walla003@umn.edu Philosophy of language, political philosophy, philosophy of education