News & Events

Recent News

Nguyen Selected Representative to SIPS

Linh Nguyen, 1st year graduate student in the area of Personality, Individual Differences, and Behavior Genetics (PIB) in the Department of Psychology, has been selected as a graduate student representative in the executive committee of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPS). SIPS brings together scholars working to improve methods and practices in psychological science.

Fall 2019 Recipients of the Sharon Borine Award

Students majoring in psychology must complete a capstone project to demonstrate appropriate expertise in an area of psychological research prior to graduation. The Sharon Borine Award was established to recognize the best of these projects each semester. Student projects are reviewed by section leaders, the course instructor, and a group of faculty reviewers in the Department of Psychology to select and rank the recipients. Congratulations to the Fall 2019 recipients: Maddie Notti, Abigail Runyon, and Tamara Tyson!
Image of Paul Sackett

Sackett Awarded Prestigious Dunnette Prize

Paul Sackett, PhD, the Beverly and Richard Fink Distinguished Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Minnesota has been awarded the Dunnette Prize from the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP, Division 14 of APA).  Sackett, only the third recipient of the $50,000 award, was given this honor for his extensive work expanding knowledge of the role of individual differences in workplace, higher education, and military settings.  He joins Thomas Bouchard, University of Minnesota (2018) and Frank Schmidt, University of Iowa (2015) as a recipient of this award.

Betz Receives APA Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Applied...

Nancy Betz, PhD, professor emerita in the Department of Psychology at Ohio State University has been selected as a recipient of the 2020 APA Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Applied Research. This award is given to a psychologist whose research has led to important discoveries or developments in the field of applied psychology. The award will be presented at the APA/APF Awards Ceremony at the 2020 APA Convention in Washington, DC in August 2020. Jo-Ida Hansen, PhD, professor emerita in the counseling psychology area of the Department of Psychology will have the honor of delivering the introduction for Betz.

Upcoming Events