Declare

Ready to declare?  Sign up for a major declaration session: comm.appointments.umn.edu.

Major Declaration Session Requirement

To declare a major in communication studies, you must attend a major declaration session.  These sessions are currently being offered virtually (onlne) at the dates and times listed below.  

After attending a major declaration session, the advising office will submit your declaration information to the college for approval. The full major approval process usually takes about a week.

If you are interested in hearing more about this major, these sessions can be very helpful as well.

Upcoming Major Declaration Session Dates

Date Time Location
Tuesday, Sept. 22 11:00AM Virtual/Zoom
Wednesday, Sept. 28 2:00PM Virtual/Zoom
Thursday, Oct. 6 2:00PM Virtual/Zoom
Tuesday, Oct. 18 11:00AM Virtual/Zoom
Friday, Oct. 28 1:00PM Virtual/Zoom
Friday, Nov. 4 1:30PM Virtual/Zoom
Monday, Nov. 14 3:00PM Virtual/Zoom
Tuesday, Nov. 22 2:30PM Virtual/Zoom
Tuesday, Dec. 6 10:30AM Virtual/Zoom
Friday, Dec. 16 1:30PM Virtual/Zoom
     

Communication Studies Minor

To declare a minor in communication studies, please email advising (commadv@umn.edu) with a request.

As a communication studies minor, you are not required to attend a declaration session; however, you are more than welcome to join any of the declaration sessions to learn more about the department and opportunities.

When the departmental advisor receives your request, they will review any potential transfer credit already listed on your APAS and advise you accordingly. Please allow up to one week for review.