Declare

Advising
Interested in declaring a major or minor in communication studies? Please complete the major declaration registration form.

Communication Studies Major

To declare a major in communication studies, you must attend a major declaration session. Sessions are scheduled for 45 minutes, and students are expected to sign-up for a session.

After attending a major declaration session, the advising office will submit your declaration information to the college for approval. The full major approval process usually takes about a week.

If you are interested in hearing more about this major, these sessions can be very helpful as well.

Upcoming Major Declaration Session Dates

Location: 200 Ford Hall

200 Ford Hall can be found at the west end of the hall.

Spring 2020 Major Declaration Sessions

Wednesday, Jan. 29 - 1:00pm
Thursday, Feb. 6 - 1:00pm
Friday, Feb. 21 - 2:00pm
Tues., March 3 - 11:00am 
Monday, March 16 - 11:00am 
Thursday, March 26 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, April 1 - 1:00pm
Friday, April 10 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 15 - 1:00pm 
Friday, April 24 - 2:00pm 
Thursday, April 30 - 1:00pm  
Friday, May 8 - 1:00pm   

Communication Studies Minor

To declare a minor in communication studies, please email advising with a request. As a communication studies minor, you are not required to attend a declaration session; however, you are more than welcome to join any of the declaration sessions to learn more about the department and opportunities. Upon receipt of the minor request, the departmental advisor will review any potential transfer credit already listed on the APAS and advise accordingly. Please allow up to one week for review.