Big Ten Academic Alliance Logo

About CourseShare

The University of Minnesota is an active participant in the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) CourseShare program, which uses technology to send and receive less commonly taught language and culture courses with partner institutions.

Sending courses expands the profile of our language and culture programs and increases and diversifies their audience. Receiving courses provides students with access to courses they need for their academic and career goals, and connects them with students and scholars across the country.

Through this program, students can choose from a number of languages offered throughout the alliance, including courses from beginning to advanced levels, as well as some culture-based topics courses.


CourseShare is administered by the Language Center, in collaboration with academic departments. Our staff provides support both for faculty teaching in the program and for students enrolling in a shared language course. Degree-seeking students can register for courses received from other institutions through the LANG course subject. Students can also request a new course by contacting or submitting the course request form.

Which institutions participate in BTAA CourseShare?

  • University of Chicago
  • University of Illinois
  • Indiana University
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Michigan
  • Michigan State University
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Northwestern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rutgers University
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison