Hartmann & Uggen Named Recipients of the 2023 ASA Public Understanding of Sociology Award 

Hartmann & Uggen

Congratulations to UMN Sociology Professors Doug Hartmann and Chris Uggen, recipients of the 2023 American Sociological Association (ASA)'s Public Understanding of Sociology Award. 

This award "...honors members who have made 'exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.' This year, it was evident to the Committee that Hartmann and Uggen are deserving of recognition for their tireless efforts towards making sociology accessible to all. As one of their nominator’s states, both Hartmann and Uggen, 'embody the spirit of this award because they have truly built networks – institutional, technical, and personal – devoted to the cultivation of public sociology.' As leaders in information equity, Douglas Hartmann and Christopher Uggen are public sociologists of the highest order and the most fitting winners of the ASA 2023 Public Understanding of Sociology Award."

Learn more.

Share on: