You are here

Faculty

Our faculty members serve on advisory boards, travel the globe to speak at conferences, appear in the media, and publish the books and articles that drive the direction of the discipline. We share the University's commitment to value a diversity of viewpoints and experiences, and to strive to provide a productive work environment for all University of Minnesota scholars from varying racial, ethnic, religious, social class, sexual identity, and national backgrounds.

You can also review our recent Faculty Publications and our Faculty Research Brochure to learn more about faculty members and their areas of interest.

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Cawo Abdi
Associate Professor
1033 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3714
cabdi@umn.edu
Migration; Gender, Race, and Class; Family; Islam; Education; Development Studies; Human Rights; Globalization; Africa; Middle East.
Zack Almquist
Assistant Professor of Sociology & Statistics
1168 Social Sciences Building (Soc) &
372 Ford Hall (Stats)
612-624-1895 (Soc) & 612-625-1024 (Stats)
almquist@umn.edu
Social Network Analysis; Text Analysis; Mathematical and Computational Sociology; Demography; Methodology; Public Health; and Human Judgment and Decision Making.
Ron Aminzade
Professor
1031 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9570
aminzade@umn.edu
Historical and Comparative; Political Sociology; Sociology of Development; Nationalism; Race Relations; Social Movements; Democratic Theory.
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor & Director, Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
1133 Social Sciences Building (Soc) &
252 Social Sciences Building (CHGS)
612-624-7548 & 612-624-5014
abaer@umn.edu
Social Memory Studies; Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Antisemitism; Globalization; Sociology of Media and Communication; Qualitative Methods; Visual Sociology.
Joyce Bell
Don A. Martindale Associate Professor of Sociology & Associate Chair
1172 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0228
jmbell@umn.edu
American Race Relations; Social Movements; Work, Professions & Organizations.
Yanjie Bian
Professor
967 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9554
bianx001@umn.edu
Economic Sociology; Social Networks; Social Stratification; Chinese Society.
Elizabeth Heger Boyle
Professor
948 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3343
boyle014@umn.edu
Sociology of Law; Globalization; Children’s and Women’s Rights.
Jeffrey Broadbent
Professor
1026 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1828
broad001@umn.edu
Political Sociology; Environmental Sociology; Climate Change; Social Movements; Network Analysis; Global Society; Discourse Analysis; Qualitative Methods; Institutions and Culture; Cross-national Comparison; Japan; East Asia.
Jack DeWaard
Assistant Professor
1148 Social Science Building
612-624-9522
jdewaard@umn.edu
Demography and Population Studies; International and Internal Migration; Integration and Assimilation; Race and Ethnic Studies; Quantitative Methods.
Penny Edgell
Professor & Associate Dean for Social Sciences
212 Johnston Hall &
909 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9839 (Assoc. Dean's office) & 612-624-9828 (Soc)
edgell@umn.edu
Culture; Religion; Gender & Family; Symbolic Boundaries & Inequality.
Gabrielle Ferrales
Assistant Professor
1152 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5021
ferrales@umn.edu
Law and Society; Gender; Criminology and Criminal Justice; International Criminal Law; Quantitative and Qualitative Methods; Factorial Survey Methods for Empirical Analysis.
Joseph Gerteis
Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
1125 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1615
gerte004@umn.edu
Politics and Political Culture; Historical Sociology; Social Theory; Inclusion and Exclusion in American Society.
Michael Goldman
Associate Professor
1070 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
Transnational, Political Economic, and Urban Sociology; Transnational Institutions of Finance, Development, and Expertise.
Teresa Gowan
Associate Professor
1080 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1863
tgowan@umn.edu
Urban Sociology; Ethnography; Poverty and Marginality; Consumption and Branded Labor; the Cultural Micro-Foundations of Alternative Economies.
Douglas Hartmann
Professor & Chair
909 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0835
hartm021@umn.edu
Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration; Sociology of Culture; Sport Studies; Social Movements and Political Sociology; American Society; Field Methods; Contemporary Theory; Public Engagement.
Kathleen Hull
Associate Professor
1131 Social Sciences Building
612-624-4339
hull@umn.edu
Culture; Law; Family; Gender and Sexuality; Social Movements.
David Knoke
Professor
939 Social Sciences Building
612-624-6816
knoke001@umn.edu
Social Networks; Political Sociology; Economic Sociology; Organizations.
Carolyn Liebler
Associate Professor
1135 Social Sciences Building
612-626-5506
liebler@umn.edu
Race and Ethnicity; Social Demography; Indigenous Peoples; Social Stratification; Sociology of the Family and Life Course; Social Support.
Enid Logan
Associate Professor
956 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3598
elogan@umn.edu
Blackness in the Americas; Race & the Body; Race & Electoral Politics; Race & Parenting; Blacks and Social Class; Afro-Latin America.
Carl Malmquist
Professor
1174 Social Sciences Building
612-624-4147
malmq001@umn.edu
Juvenile Justice; Homicide; Adolescence; Law and Society; Law and the Mental Health System.
Ann Meier
Professor
1127 Social Sciences Building
612-626-7230
meierann@umn.edu
Family and Life Course; Adolescent and Young Adult Development; Gender.
Phyllis Moen
Professor
1123 Social Sciences Building
612-625-5483
phylmoen@umn.edu
Gender and the Life Course; Flexible Work; Career/Retirement Paths; Health and Well-Being; Couples’ Time Use; Caregiving; Public/ Organizational Policies.
Jeylan Mortimer
Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
1014B Social Sciences Building
612-624-4064
morti002@umn.edu
Life Course; Transition to Adulthood; Work; Family.
Joshua Page
Associate Professor
935 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9333
page@umn.edu
Crime, Law, Deviance, and Punishment; Labor and Unionization; Political Sociology; Qualitative Research Methods; Social Theory.
Michelle Phelps
Assistant Professor
1035 Social Sciences Building
612-626-0863
phelps@umn.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance; Inequality; Mixed Methods.
Evan Roberts
Contract Assistant Professor
1078 Social Sciences
612-625-8591
eroberts@umn.edu
Demography; Health, Life Course; Gender, Work and Employment; Historical Demography.
Joel Samaha
Professor
jbs@umn.edu Criminal Law and Procedure in US Society; History of Criminal Justice.
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
1144 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0273
savel001@umn.edu
Knowledge, Memory & Representations; Law, Crime & Punishment; Human Rights; Comparative; Theory.
Rachel Schurman
Professor
1074 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1039
schurman@umn.edu
Agri-food Studies; Transnational Sociology; Social Movements; Global Political Economy; Political Sociology; Development/Post-Development Studies.
Teresa Swartz
Associate Professor
933 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1862
tswartz@umn.edu
Families; Intergenerational Relations; Social Inequality; Asian American Studies; Gender; Welfare State; Children, Youth and Young Adulthood.
Christopher Uggen
Regents Professor & Don A. Martindale Professor of Sociology
1014A Social Sciences Building
612-624-4016
uggen001@umn.edu
Crime, Law, Justice; Life Course; Inequality; Methods; Policy.
Rob Warren
Professor
1167 Social Sciences Building
612-624-2310
warre046@umn.edu
Social Inequality; Education; Health Disparities; Demography.
Elizabeth Wrigley-Field
Assistant Professor
1156 Social Sciences Building
612-624-7602
ewf@umn.edu
Formal Demography; Social Demography; Race; Health; Inequality.

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact
John Arthur
Professor
Sociology & Anthropology
UMD
218-726-6358
jarthur@d.umn.edu
Rose Brewer
Professor
African American & African Studies
810 Social Sciences
612-624-9305
brewe001@umn.edu
Kathleen Call
Professor
School of Public Health
15-223 Phillips Wangensteen Building
612-624-3922
callx001@umn.edu
Karen Ho
Associate Professor
Anthropology
612-625-3400
karenho@umn.edu
Jeffrey Maahs
Associate Professor
Sociology & Anthropology
UMD
218-726-7395
jmaahs@d.umn.edu
Donna McAlpine
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
612-625-9919
mcalp004@umn.edu
J Michael Oakes
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
300 West Bank Office Building
612-624-6855
oakes007@umn.edu
Carrie Oelberger
Assistant Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-5947
coelberg@umn.edu
Jennifer Pierce
Professor
American Studies
204 Scott Hall
612-624-0852
pierc012@umn.edu
Christopher Roberts
Associate Professor
Law School
450 Mondale Hall
612-624-2947
cnr@umn.edu
Steven Ruggles
Professor
History
Director
MN Population Center
50 Willey Hall
612-624-4081
ruggl001@umn.edu
Karen Seashore
Professor
CEHD
Org. Leadership, Policy & Development
310D Wulling Hall
612-626-8971
klouis@umn.edu
Tetyana Shippee
Assistant Professor
School of Public Health
612-626-3065
tshippee@umn.edu
Rossella Selmini
Contract Associate Professor
Sociology
1078 Social Sciences
rselmini@umn.edu
Mark Snyder
Professor
Psychology
N218 Elliott Hall
612-625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Joe Soss
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
261 Humphrey School
612-626-9865
jbsoss@umn.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Ronald Anderson
Professor Emeritus
rea@umn.edu
Joel Nelson
Professor Emeritus
nelso004@umn.edu
Ira Reiss
Professor Emeritus
irareiss@comcast.net
David Ward
Professor Emeritus
dward1144@aol.com