You are here

Faculty

Our faculty members serve on advisory boards, travel the globe to speak at conferences, appear in the media, and publish the books and articles that drive the direction of the discipline. We share the University's commitment to value a diversity of viewpoints and experiences, and to strive to provide a productive work environment for all University of Minnesota scholars from varying racial, ethnic, religious, social class, sexual identity, and national backgrounds.

You can also review our recent Faculty Publications and our Faculty Research Brochure to learn more about faculty members and their areas of interest.

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Hassan Abdel Salam
Assistant Professor
960 Social Sciences Building
612-624-8040
asalamha@umn.edu 
Law; Religion; Culture; Global Sociology; Comparative and Historical Sociology. 
Cawo Abdi
Associate Professor
1033 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3714
cabdi@umn.edu
Migration; Gender, Race, and Class; Family; Islam; Education; Development Studies; Human Rights; Globalization; Africa; Middle East.
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Director, Ctr for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
1133 Social Sciences Building (Soc) &
333 Social Sciences Building (CHGS)
612-624-7548 & 612-624-0306
abaer@umn.edu
Social Memory Studies; Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Antisemitism; Globalization; Sociology of Media and Communication; Qualitative Methods; Visual Sociology.
Yanjie Bian
Professor
967 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9554
bianx001@umn.edu
Economic Sociology; Social Networks; Social Stratification; Chinese Society.
Elizabeth Heger Boyle
Professor
948 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3343
boyle014@umn.edu
Sociology of Law; Globalization; Children’s and Women’s Rights.
Jeffrey Broadbent
Professor
1026 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1828
broad001@umn.edu
Political Sociology; Environmental Sociology; Climate Change; Social Movements; Network Analysis; Global Society; Discourse Analysis; Qualitative Methods; Institutions and Culture; Cross-national Comparison; Japan; East Asia.
Jack DeWaard
Associate Professor
1148 Social Science Building
612-624-9522
jdewaard@umn.edu
Demography and Population Studies; International and Internal Migration; Climate and Environmental Change; Inequality and Incorporation; Race and Ethnic Studies.
Penny Edgell
Professor 
1039 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9828 
edgell@umn.edu
Culture; Religion; Gender & Family; Symbolic Boundaries & Inequality.
Gabrielle Ferrales
Assistant Professor
1152 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5021
ferrales@umn.edu
Law and Society; Gender; Criminology and Criminal Justice; International Criminal Law; Quantitative and Qualitative Methods; Factorial Survey Methods for Empirical Analysis.
Joseph Gerteis
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
1125 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1615
gerte004@umn.edu
Politics and Political Culture; Historical Sociology; Social Theory; Inclusion and Exclusion in American Society.
Michael Goldman
Associate Professor
1070 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
Transnational, Political Economic, and Urban Sociology; Transnational Institutions of Finance, Development, and Expertise.
Teresa Gowan
Associate Professor
1080 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1863
tgowan@umn.edu
Urban Sociology; Ethnography; Poverty and Marginality; Consumption and Branded Labor; the Cultural Micro-Foundations of Alternative Economies.
Douglas Hartmann
Professor & Chair
909 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0835
hartm021@umn.edu
Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration; Sociology of Culture; Sport Studies; Social Movements and Political Sociology; American Society; Field Methods; Contemporary Theory; Public Engagement.
Kathleen Hull
Associate Professor
1131 Social Sciences Building
612-624-4339
hull@umn.edu
Culture; Law; Family; Gender and Sexuality; Social Movements.
David Knoke
Professor
939 Social Sciences Building
612-624-6816
knoke001@umn.edu
Social Networks; Political Sociology; Economic Sociology; Organizations.
Carolyn Liebler
Associate Professor
1135 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5506
liebler@umn.edu
Race and Ethnicity; Social Demography; Indigenous Peoples; Social Stratification; Sociology of the Family and Life Course; Social Support.
Enid Logan
Associate Professor 
Associate Chair
956 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3598
elogan@umn.edu
Blackness in the Americas; Race & the Body; Race & Electoral Politics; Race & Parenting; Blacks and Social Class; Afro-Latin America.
Ann Meier
Professor
1127 Social Sciences Building
612-626-7230
meierann@umn.edu
Family and Life Course; Adolescent and Young Adult Development; Gender.
Phyllis Moen
Professor  
McKnight Endowed Chair in Sociology
1123 Social Sciences Building
612-625-5483
phylmoen@umn.edu
Gender and the Life Course; Flexible Work; Career/Retirement Paths; Health and Well-Being; Couples’ Time Use; Caregiving; Public/ Organizational Policies.
Jeylan Mortimer
Professor  
Director of Graduate Studies
1014B Social Sciences Building
612-624-4064
morti002@umn.edu
Life Course, Health, Inequality; Intergenerational Transmission; Transition to Adulthood.
Joshua Page
Associate Professor  
Don A. Martindale Professor of Sociology  
Beverly & Richard Fink Professor in CLA
935 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9333
page@umn.edu
Crime, Law, Deviance, and Punishment; Labor and Unionization; Political Sociology; Qualitative Research Methods; Social Theory.
Michelle Phelps
Associate Professor
1035 Social Sciences Building
612-626-0863
phelps@umn.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance; Inequality; Mixed Methods.
Evan Roberts
Contract Assistant Professor
1078 Social Sciences
612-625-8591
eroberts@umn.edu
Demography; Health, Life Course; Gender, Work and Employment; Historical Demography.
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor  
Arsham & Charlotte Ohanessian Chair
1144 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0273
savel001@umn.edu
Knowledge, Memory & Representations; Law, Crime & Punishment; Human Rights; Comparative; Theory.
Rachel Schurman
Professor
1074 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1039
schurman@umn.edu
Agri-food Studies; Transnational Sociology; Social Movements; Global Political Economy; Political Sociology; Development/Post-Development Studies.
Teresa Swartz
Associate Professor
933 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1862
tswartz@umn.edu
Families; Intergenerational Relations; Social Inequality; Asian American Studies; Gender; Welfare State; Children, Youth and Young Adulthood.
Christopher Uggen
Regents Professor  
Don A. Martindale Professor of Sociology
1014A Social Sciences Building
612-624-4016
uggen001@umn.edu
Crime, Law, Justice; Life Course; Inequality; Methods; Policy.
Michael L. Walker
Assistant Professor
952 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5006
walkerml@umn.edu
Social Control; Stratification; Inequality; Criminal Justice.
Rob Warren
Professor  
Director of Minnesota Population Center
1167 Social Sciences Building
612-624-2310
warre046@umn.edu
Social Inequality; Education; Health Disparities; Demography.
Elizabeth Wrigley-Field
Assistant Professor
2019-20 Fesler-Lampert Chair 
1156 Social Sciences Building
612-624-7602
ewf@umn.edu
Formal Demography; Social Demography; Race; Health; Inequality.

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact
Ryan Allen
Associate Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
295B Humphrey School
612-625-5670
allen650@umn.edu
Valerie Belair-Gagnon
Assistant Professor
Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication
329 Murphy Hall
612-626-7754
vbg@umn.edu
Rose Brewer
Professor
African American & African Studies
810 Social Sciences
612-624-9305
brewe001@umn.edu
Kathleen Call
Professor
School of Public Health
15-223 Phillips Wangensteen Building
612-624-3922
callx001@umn.edu
Brooke Cunningham
Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
717 Delaware St SE, Rm 420
612-624-7244
bcunning@umn.edu
Christina Ewig
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
301 – 19th Avenue South
612-625-1884
cewig@umn.edu
Karen Ho
Associate Professor
Anthropology
395 HHH Center
612-625-3400
karenho@umn.edu
Donna McAlpine
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
612-625-9919
mcalp004@umn.edu
J Michael Oakes
Professor
School of Public Health
300 West Bank Office Building
612-624-6855
oakes007@umn.edu
Carrie Oelberger
Assistant Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-5947
coelberg@umn.edu
Jennifer Pierce
Professor
American Studies
204 Scott Hall
612-624-0852
pierc012@umn.edu
Christopher Roberts
Associate Professor
Law School
450 Mondale Hall
612-624-2947
cnr@umn.edu
Steven Ruggles
Professor
History
Director
MN Population Center
50 Willey Hall
612-624-4081
ruggl001@umn.edu
Karen Seashore
Professor
CEHD
Org. Leadership, Policy & Development
310D Wulling Hall
612-626-8971
klouis@umn.edu
Tetyana Shippee
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
612-626-3065
tshippee@umn.edu
Mark Snyder
Professor
Psychology
N218 Elliott Hall
612-625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Joe Soss
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
261 Humphrey School
612-626-9865
jbsoss@umn.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Ron Aminzade
Professor Emeritus
aminzade@umn.edu
Ronald Anderson
Professor Emeritus
rea@umn.edu
Carl Malmquist
Professor Emeritus
malmq001@umn.edu
Joel Nelson
Professor Emeritus
nelso004@umn.edu
Ira Reiss
Professor Emeritus
irareiss@comcast.net
Joel Samaha
Professor Emeritus
jbs@umn.edu
David Ward
Professor Emeritus
dward1144@aol.com