You are here

Faculty

Our department has nineteen full-time faculty members. All of our faculty members conduct anthropology-centered interdisciplinary research. Together, they specialize within our three anthropology subfields: archaeology, biological anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Faculty

Name Contact Research specialties

Erin Durban
Assistant Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
 
612-625-9862
edurbana@umn.edu
375 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
colonialism/imperialism, LGBTQI studies, political anthropology, social movements, human rights, transnational feminisms, critical theory (queer, trans*, feminist, black, decolonial, postcolonial, Marxist), transnational American studies, Haiti/ Caribbean
Aisha Ghani
Assistant Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
aghani@umn.edu
369 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
anthropology of religion and secularism, political and legal anthropology, violence, liberalism sovereignty, U.S. constitutional and environmental law, Islamic law, psychoanalysis, courtroom ethnography, social theory; Islam and Muslim communities in the United States. 
Katherine Hayes
Associate Professor
Archaeology
612-626-7482
kathayes@umn.edu
386 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
historical archaeology, memory, forgetting, history, heritage, colonialism in North America, ceramic analysis, material culture studies
Serra Hakyemez
Assistant Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-625-9480
hakyemez@umn.edu
365 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
political-legal anthropology, social theory, human rights, political violence, "war on terror", courtroom ethnography, Kurdish freedom movement, Turkey, Middle East
Karen Ho
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-626-1313
karenho@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
cultural studies of finance capital, finance, globalization, and capitalism, ethnography, feminist studies, political economy, United States, comparative race and ethnicity
Steve Kosiba
Assistant Professor
Archaeology
612-625-3890
skosiba@umn.edu
370 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
political and historical ecology; landscape archaeology; environmental anthropology; materiality, "new materialism," and material culture studies; anthropology of religion; political theory; subjectivity and subjectification; indigenousness; colonialism; Latin America; Andes.
David Lipset
Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-626-8657
lipse001@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
masculinity, personhood and modernity, the state of the Pacific, symbolic, politcial-legal, and psychoanalytic anthropology, Bakhtinian dialogism, Papua New Guinea, Sepik River, the Pacific; romance, the body, nonWestern people in mass media, class cross-culturally, climate change and culture, social theory, material culture, communications technology cross-culturally, social media
Stuart McLean
Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-624-8944
mclea070@umn.edu
374 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
anthropology of modernity, social and cultural theory, historical anthropology, Ireland, European Union
Kieran McNulty
Professor
Biological Anthropology
612-625-0058
kmcnulty@umn.edu
383 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
paleoanthropology, human and primate evolution, geometric morphometrics, cranial evolution and ontogeny, East Africa
Gilliane Monnier
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor
Archaeology
612-626-4846
monni003@umn.edu
anthdus@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
stone tool analysis, lower and middle paleolithic Europe, neanderthal behavior, microarchaeology
Maria Nieves-Colón
Assistant Professor
Biological Anthropology
mnievesc@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
anthropological genetics and ancient DNA, the Caribbean and Latin America, human population history, migration and admixture, decolonizing genomics
Gloria Goodwin Raheja
Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-625-8547
raheja@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
cultural production in India (caste, gender and oral traditions), poetics and politics of speech and song; colonialism, culture, and colonial knowledge, colonial ethnography in nineteeth century India; the politics of representation, ethnographic history, music and industrial capitalism in Appalachia, blues music in the mountain south; landscape, history, memory
Hoon Song
Associate Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-624-8980
songx080@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
ontology of power, materiality of sovereignty, psychoanalysis, biopolitics, philosophical anthropology, animality, US/North Korea, early french anthropology
Martha Tappen
Associate Professor
Biological Anthropology
612-625-3087
tappe004@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
human evolution and adaptations, out of Africa, paleoenvironments, stone age archaeology, zooarchaeology, taphonomy
Karen-Sue Taussig
Department Chair
Associate Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-625-3366
taussig@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
medical anthropology, social and cultural implications of genetic testing, new reproductive technologies, cloning and stem cell research, genetics, eugenics, anthropology of science, biotechnology
Gilbert Tostevin
Associate Professor
Archaeology
612-625-5542
toste003@umn.edu
379 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
human evolution, lithic technology, old world archaeology, paleolithic archaeology, cultural transmission theory, experimental archaeology, origins of modern humans, material culture
David Valentine
Associate Professor
Sociocultural Anthropology
612-626-8692
valen076@umn.edu
364 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
cultural and linguistic anthropology, social justice movements, gender and sexuality, queer theory, the idea of the future, commercial space exploration
Peter Wells
Professor
Archaeology
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
material culture, visual representation, central Europe, culture contact, European prehistory, frontiers, Iron Age, late prehistory, Roman and early medieval periods, Roman Europe, identity, ancient Germans, ancient Celts
Michael Wilson
Associate Professor
Biological Anthropology
612-625-1376
wilso198@umn.edu
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
primate behavior and ecology, warfare and human evolution

Faculty Emeriti

Name Contact
William Beeman
Professor Emeritus
wbeeman@umn.edu
Timothy Dunnigan
Professor Emeritus
dunni001@umn.edu
Luther Gerlach
Professor Emeritus
gerla001@umn.edu
Stephen Gudeman
Professor Emeritus
gudeman@umn.edu
John Ingham
Professor Emeritus
ingha001@umn.edu
Jean Langford
Professor Emerita
langf001@umn.edu
Frank Miller
Professor Emeritus
mille005@umn.edu

Affiliated Researchers

Name Contact
Yasmeen Arif
Political Science
arifx003@umn.edu
Melissa Brown
Minnesota Population Center; Harvard University
melbrown@fas.harvard.edu
M. Bianet Castellanos
American Studies
mbc@umn.edu
Ellen W. Demerath
Epidemology
ewd@umn.edu
Joanne B. Eicher
Design/Housing/Apparel
jeicher@umn.edu
Joshua M. Feinberg
Earth Sciences & Adjunct Asst. Professor in Anthropology
feinberg@umn.edu
Ed Fleming
Research Associate
flem0033@umn.edu   
G. Friedmann-Sanchez
Humphrey Institute
frie0013@umn.edu
Niki Garrett
Research Associate
garre125@umn.edu 
David Karjanen
American Studies
karjanen@umn.edu
Stephen Kensinger
Research Associate
kensi008@umn.edu
Laura Kunreuther
Visiting Scholar
kunreuth@bard.edu
John D. Nichols
American Indian Studies
jdn@umn.edu
Rebecca Nockerts
Research Associate
slepk002@umn.edu
Maureen O'Dougherty
Food Science & Nutrition
modoughe@umn.edu
Mark Pedelty
Journalism & Mass Communications
pedeltmh@umn.edu
Riv-Ellen Prell
American Studies
prell001@umn.edu
Joel D. Rudney
Dentistry
jrudney@umn.edu
Harvey B. Sarles
Cultural Studies
sarle001@umn.edu
Anna Schultz
Music
schul778@umn.edu
Chery Smith
Food Science & Nutrition
csmith@umn.edu
Elaine E. Tarone
Continuing Education; Sociolinguistics
etarone@umn.edu
Rachel Thompson
Research Associate
rthompson@g.harvard.edu
Bula Sirika Wayessa
African American & African Studies
bwayessa@umn.edu
Margaret Werry
Theatre Arts & Dance; Performance Studies
werry001@umn.edu
Joe Westermeyer
Psychiatry; Cross-Cultural Psychiatry
weste010@umn.edu

     

Instructional Staff

Name Contact
Nisarg Desai 
Graduate Instructor
desai054@umn.edu
Emily Briggs
Graduate Instructor 
brigg184@umn.edu