People

Name Contact Specialty
Alice Lovejoy
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
Nicholson Hall 235C
612-626-1552

alovejoy@umn.edu
Film history and historiography; nonfiction and experimental film; East Central European film, literature, and cultural history
Graeme Stout
Senior Lecturer and Film Studies Coordinator
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
213 Nicholson Hall
612-625-2901
stou0046@umn.edu
Film, television, and media studies; political and social theory; visual arts and intellectual history

Moving Image Studies Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Hakim Abderrezak
Associate Professor
French & Italian
abder002@umn.edu Maghrebi & Beur literature, cinema & music; representations of Clandestine migrations in Arabic, French, & Spanish; Francophone studies
Sophia Beal
Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese Studies
sfbeal@umn.edu Brazilian literature and cultural studies, Lusophone-African Literature and cultural studies, urban studies, postcolonial studies
Ben Bigelow
Associate Professor
German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch
bbigelow@umn.edu Scandinavian literature and culture
Jane Blocker
Professor
Art History
block023@umn.edu 20th-century theory & criticism, alternative media, performance Art
Emily Ruth Capper
Assistant Professor of Art History and Associate Curator at the Weisman Art Museum 
ercapper@umn.edu Modern and contemporary art; the social and intellectual history of art; film and media history; historiography and critical theory
Cesare Casarino
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
casarino@umn.edu European cinemas, literary theory, 19th- and 20th-century comparative literatures
Palita Chunsaengchan
Assistant Professor
Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
palitac@umn.edu Comparative Media Aesthetics; Film theory / historiography; Early Thai Cinema; "Media Modernity"; Cinema and Politics of Class, Production and Circulation; Contemporary Southeast Asian Cinema
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
English
craig026@umn.edu Fascist-era cinema in Italy and Germany, new German cinema, the cinematic body
Jigna Desai
Professor
Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies
desai003@umn.edu Asian American literature and media, feminist theory, postcolonial studies
Lorenzo Fabbri
Associate Professor
French & Italian
lfabbri@umn.edu Italian cinema, continental philosophy and literary theory, postcolonial studies, visual culture under fascism, biopolitics
Joseph R Farag
Associate Professor
Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
jrfarag@umn.edu Palestinian literature and film; modern Arabic literature; Arab cultural studies; modern Arab history, politics, and society; Arab American studies
Ana Forcinito
Professor
Spanish & Portuguese Studies
aforcini@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century Latin American literature, women's writing, Latin American film
Michael Gallope
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
mgallope@umn.edu Music and Sound, Continental Philosophy and Critical Theory, Peripheral Modernisms, Black/African Diaspora, Popular Culture
Keya Ganguly
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
gangu003@umn.edu South Asian film and culture, film and visual studies, postcolonial theory and criticism
Sumanth Gopinath
Associate Professor
School of Music
sumanth@umn.edu Music after WWII, musical hermeneutics, music and globalization
Ron Greene
Professor
Communication Studies
green179@umn.edu Film exhibition, educational uses of film or movies, Legal and popular perspectives on free speech, political communication
Atilla Hallsby
Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
hall1039@umn.edu Rhetorical studies; post-structuralist theories of discourse; history of secrecy; privacy & transparency; critical surveillance & security studies
Maggie Hennefeld
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
mhennefe@umn.edu Silent cinema, film history and film theory, film and popular culture
Amy Kaminsky
Professor Emeritus
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
kamin001@umn.edu Latin American film, Jewish writing and film in Argentina, feminist literary theory and criticism
Katerina Korola
Assistant Professor
German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch
kkorola@umn.edu German and Central European modernism, history of photography, film history and theory, modern art and visual culture, ecocriticism and the environmental humanities
Richard Leppert
Regents Professor Emeritus
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
leppe001@umn.edu Art history, cultural studies, musicology
Alice Lovejoy
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
alovejoy@umn.edu Film history and historiography; nonfiction and experimental film; East Central European film, literature, and cultural history
Lynn Lukkas
Professor
Art
lukkas@umn.edu Video, film, interdisciplinary art
Christine Marran
Professor
Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
marran@umn.edu Gender and sexuality in print and film culture, Japanese and Asian film, modern Japanese literature
Richard McCormick
Professor Emeritus
German, Scandinavian & Dutch
mccor001@umn.edu German film History, post-WWII German cinema, Weimar film and culture
Stuart McLean
Professor
Anthropology
mclea070@umn.edu anthropology of modernity, social and cultural theory, historical anthropology, Ireland, European Union
Jason McGrath
Professor
Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
jmcgrath@umn.edu Chinese and international cinema, modern and contemporary Chinese literature and culture, issues of convention and intextuality in film theory
Laurie Ouellette
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature and Communication Studies
ouell031@umn.edu Critical media studies, cultural studies, feminist criticism, television studies, reality TV, citizenship, governmentality and media
Sonali Pahwa
Associate Professor
Theatre Arts & Dance
pahwa007@umn.edu Middle East Studies, performance studies, digital media, gender studies, youth culture, Egypt
Mara Pedelty
Professor Emeritus
Communication Studies
pedeltmh@umn.edu Music as environmental communication, ethnographic research in the USA, El Salvador, and Mexico
Ioana Vartolomei Pribiag
Assistant Professor
French and Italian
 
ivartolo@umn.edu Francophone literature and film, postcolonial studies, politics of aesthetics
Paula Rabinowitz
Professor Emerita
English
rabin001@umn.edu American women, minority, and working-class writers; film, photography, media; visual cultures
Jani Scandura
Associate Professor
English
jani@umn.edu Cultural studies and critical theory; 20th-century North American literatures, film, mass culture
Jenny Schmid
Professor
Art
jrschmid@umn.edu Combined print media, digital applications, photolithography, mezzotinting
Suvadip Sinha
Film Studies Advisory Committee Chair
Associate Professor
Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
ssinha@umn.edu Indian cinema, modern South Asian literature and culture, global modernities, philosophy of the non-human
Catherine R. Squires
Professor Emerita
Communication Studies
squir050@umn.edu Media, race and politics; gender and media studies; public sphere studies; community-engaged research; educational inequality
Mary Douglas Vavrus
Professor
Communication Studies
vavru001@umn.edu Media studies; feminist theory; political economy of media
Christophe Wall-Romana
Professor
French & Italian
wallr007@umn.edu French cinema, silent cinema, media history
Jamele Watkins
Assistant Professor
German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch
watkinsj@umn.eduu 20th- and 21st-century German literature and history; Black diasporic studies; performance studies; feminist studies; German film
Margaret Werry
Associate Professor
Theatre Arts & Dance
werry001@umn.edu Cultural policy and governmentality—tourism, heritage, film; 19th-century Euro-American and British colonial popular theatre and entertainment culture, museum studies
Travis Workman
Professor
Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
tworkman@umn.edu Korean and Japanese literature, film, and intellectual history; humanism and empire; critical theory; film melodrama; Cold War aesthetics; North Korea