Awards & Scholarships


The Department of Writing Studies offers three awards for excellence in technical writing & communication to TWC majors.

  • The Coakley Ames Writing Award provides $3,000 to one student interested in improving their writing through advanced study. This award is made possible by a generous donation from the Coakley Ames family.
  • The Mikelonis Award offers $350 every year to an undergraduate student whose academic pursuits reflect a commitment to scientific and technical communication, rhetorical studies, and/or intercultural communication.
  • The James and Ruth Brown Undergraduate Award provides $3000 to two TWC majors each year by a generous donation from the James and Ruth Brown family.


Explore additional scholarships open to all CLA and undergraduate students