Victoria Mikelonis Undergraduate Memorial Fund

Victoria Mikelonis Undergraduate Memorial Fund in Scientific & Technical Communication offers a $350 award every year to a technical writing & communication major whose academic pursuits reflect a commitment to scientific and technical communication, rhetorical studies, and/or intercultural communication. The award is presented in recognition of Professor Mikelonis’s leadership, commitment, and her tremendous contributions to the University of Minnesota with the hope that the student will continue to build on Professor Mikelonis’s work.

Professor Victoria Mikelonis is fondly remembered by her colleagues, students, friends, and family for her profound commitment to scientific and technical communication and rhetorical studies. She was a faculty member in the former Department of Rhetoric from 1980 until her death in 2007.

Vickie served in many roles over the years, but always with an eye toward challenging and encouraging her students. Her work is defined by her keen interest in the role of rhetoric in drawing people together across cultures and national boundaries.

Vickie’s deep dedication to her students was most evident in her years as director of the department’s scientific & technical communication undergraduate program (now known as the technical writing & communication undergraduate program) and her leadership in the Society for Technical Communication (STC) student chapter.

2022-23 Application Deadline: November 28th


One $350 award.


  • must be a technical writing & communication major with at least one semester of coursework remaining.
  • must have taken at least six credits of writing courses (including first-year writing or writing intensive courses) with a GPA of 3.0 or higher in those classes.
  • must be registered full time during the following spring semester at the University of Minnesota.

Funds will be awarded spring semester. If the recipient of the award currently receives financial aid through the University of Minnesota, the award will be applied toward the student’s spring 2023 financial aid.


All submissions collected by November 28th will be considered for both the Mikelonis award and the Coakley Ames award.

To apply for this award, submit the following materials:

  1. An academic writing sample from a previous class (minimum of five pages).
  2. A one-page statement of interest in the major explaining how you hope to improve your writing through advanced study in TWC.
  3. An unofficial copy of your transcript.

Submit your application

If you would prefer to submit your application materials in person, you may submit them to the main office.

The winning student will be asked to write a thank you letter explaining how the funds will be used to support his or her education. (Suggested uses are books and a membership in the STC student chapter.) This letter will be shared with everyone who donated to the Mikelonis fund.

Contact with any questions about the award.

Past recipients:

  • 2023: Diego Juarez
  • 2022: Katherine Sharp
  • 2021: Livie Hanousek
  • 2020: Emily Raper
  • 2019: Bailey Arman
  • 2018: Megan Kratzke
  • 2017: Megan Kratzke
  • 2016: John Orzechowski
  • 2015: Matewos Gebrehiwet
  • 2014: Matewos Gebrehiwet
  • 2013: Christi Mastley
  • 2011: Kristin O'Connor