You are here

Human Rights University Faculty

Name Contact Human Rights Specialty
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Stephen Feinstein Chair
Director of Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
Sociology
612-624-7548
abaer@umn.edu
Holocaust studies, comparative genocides, social memories & transitional justice, antisemitism studies, globalization
Elizabeth Boyle
Professor
Sociology
612-624-3343
boyle014@umn.edu
Women's and children's rights, especially rights to healthcare and education
Karen Brown
Director
Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change
612-625-1879
kbt@umn.edu
Gender and public policy in a global context, international women's and children's human rights, girls in international policy
Cosette Creamer
Assistant Professor
Political Science
612-626-0213
ccreamer@umn.edu
Inter-American Court of Human Rights, UN Human Rights Treaty Bodies, state reporting on human rights
Mary Curtin
Diplomat in Residence
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-624-1065
mtcurtin@umn.edu
Human rights and democracy policy, foreign policy, diplomacy
Ana Forcinito
Professor
Spanish and Portugese Studies
612-625-1014
aforcini@umn.edu
Memory studies, human rights and testimonial writing
Barbara Frey
Director of the Human Rights Program
Institute for Global Studies
612-626-1879
freyx001@umn.edu
International human rights law and advocacy, firearms and human rights, migration and human rights
Greta Friedemann-Sanchez
Associate Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-4747
frie0013@umn.edu
Domestic violence, gender inequality, Latin America, economics and health as aspects of human development
V.V. Ganeshananthan
Associate Professor
English
612-626-7123
vganesha@umn.edu
Sri Lanka and its diasporas, human rights in contemporary fiction and journalism
Jennifer M Green
Associate Professor of Law
Law School
612-625-7247
jmgreen@umn.edu
International human rights law, international legal systems, domestic human rights litigation
Catherine Guisan
Visiting Assistant Professor
Political Science
612-624-4144
guis0001@umn.edu
Transnational ethics, citizens' participation in international relations
Lisa Hilbink
Associate Professor
Political Science
612-626-0160
hilbink@umn.edu
Comparative judicial politics, comparative constitutionalism, Latine American and Iberian politics, and democratization
Steve Meili
Clinical Professor
Law School
612-626-3972
smeili@umn.edu
Human rights law, immigration law, civil procedure and legal practice
Steven Miles
Mass Family Endowed Chair in Bioethics
Medical School
612-624-9440
miles001@umn.edu
Biomedical ethics, accountability of professionals for crimes against humanity, prisoners and detained refugees
Fionnuala Ní Aoláin
Robina Chair in Law, Public Policy, and Society
Law School
University of Ulster
612-624-2318
niaol002@umn.edu
European Court of Human Rights, transitional justice, intersection of human rights and humanitarian norms, feminist legal theory, international human rights law and international criminal law intersection
Catherine O'Rourke
Visiting Fulbright Scholar
Institute for Global Studies
University of Ulster
612-624-1876
corourke@umn.edu
Women's movements in transitional justice, gender and reparations, gender and reproductive rights, CEDAW
Leigh Payne
Human Rights Program Senior Research Fellow
Institute for Global Studies
University of Oxford
612-625-6103
lpayne@umn.edu
Transitional justice, social movement theory, Latin American politics, impunity, business and human rights
Luis Ramos-Garcia
Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese Studies
612-625-3039
laramosg@umn.edu
Human rights and politics in Latin America and Spain, human rights across the disciplines including theater/art/literature
Christopher Roberts
Associate Professor
Law School
612-624-2947
cnr@umn.edu
Formation of the International Bill of Human Rights, legal history, legal and social history
Cheryl Robertson
Associate Professor
School of Nursing
612-625-7091
rober007@umn.edu
Refugee health, war trauma and torture, global public health, eco-health strategies in Central/Eastern Africa
James Ron
Stassen Chair for International Affairs
Humphrey School Of Public Affairs
Political Science
612-626-7819
jamesr@umn.edu
International human rights, public opinion on human rights, NGOs, political violence
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
Sociology
612-624-0273
savel001@umn.edu
Collective representations and memory of mass violence and atrocities, human rights crimes and responses
Kathryn Sikkink
Regents Professor Emerita
Political Science
sikkink@umn.edu International human rights norms and institutions, transnational advocacy networks, impact of human rights law and policies, transitional justice
Siri Suh
Assistant Professor
Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies
Institute for Global Studies
612-624-9326
jssuh@umn.edu
Global health, reproductive governance, global population and development, Senegal and West Africa
David Weissbrodt
Regents Professor
Fredrickson and Byron Professor of Law
Law School
612-625-5027
weiss001@umn.edu
Human rights law, UN human rights mechanisms, business and human rights, immigration law