Human Rights University Faculty

Name

Contact Human Rights Specialty

Hassan Abdel Salam
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
Faculty Member 
Institute for Global Studies

612-624-8040
asalamha@umn.edu

Cultural change and social influence in the realm of human rights, Islamic law and human rights
Cawo Abdi
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change 
612-624-3714
cabdi@umn.edu
Migration, gender, race, and class, globalization
Ryan Allen
Associate Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Director of Urban and Regional Planning Program
Sociology
612-625-5670
allen650@umn.edu
Race and ethnicity, demography, housing affordability and public housing, immigration and refugee services and policy
Ragui Assaad
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-4856
assaad@umn.edu
International economic development, inequality of opportunity in education, international migration

Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Stephen Feinstein Chair
Director of Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
Sociology

612-624-7548
abaer@umn.edu
Holocaust studies, comparative genocides, social memories & transitional justice, antisemitism studies, globalization
Elizabeth Boyle
Professor
Sociology
612-624-3343
boyle014@umn.edu
Women's and children's rights, especially rights to healthcare and education
Karen Brown
Director
Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change
612-624-0255
kbt@umn.edu
Gender and public policy in a global context, international women's and children's human rights, girls in international policy
Linus Chan
Associate Professor of Clinical Law
Law School
612-301-1156
rlchan@umn.edu
Immigration, detainee rights, intersection of criminal and immigration law
Anna Clark
Professor
Department of History
612-624-8015
clark106@umn.edu
Gender and sexuality, women's rights, class and economic rights
Susan Craddock
Professor
Department of Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
Institute for Global Studies
612-625-5535
craddock@umn.edu
Health rights, association between global inequality and vaccine access
Cosette Creamer
Assistant Professor
Political Science
612-624-4144
ccreamer@umn.edu
Inter-American Court of Human Rights, UN Human Rights Treaty Bodies, state reporting on human rights
Mary Curtin
Diplomat in Residence
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-624-1065
mtcurtin@umn.edu
Human rights and democracy policy, foreign policy, diplomacy
Joan DeJaeghere
Assistant Professor
Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy and Development
612-626-8258
deja0003@umn.edu
International development policy, inequality and education, gender and education, gender, caste, class and ethnic inequalities
Jack DeWaard
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
612-624-9522
jdewaard@umn.edu
Human migration, migration systems and networks, climate and environmental migration and displacement, inequality and incorporation
Christina Ewig
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Director of Center on Women, Gender and Public Policy
612-625-1884
cewig@umn.edu
Gender, health care policy, international development, Latin American social policy
Tanisha Fazal
Associate Professor
Political Science 
612-624-4144
fazal007@umn.edu
International security, armed conflict, laws of war, sovereignty, military medicine
Ana Forcinito
Professor
Spanish and Portugese Studies
612-625-1014
aforcini@umn.edu
Memory studies, human rights, and testimonial writing
Barbara Frey
Director of the Human Rights Program
Institute for Global Studies
612-626-1879
freyx001@umn.edu
International human rights law and advocacy, firearms and human rights, migration and human rights
Greta Friedemann-Sanchez
Associate Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-4747
frie0013@umn.edu
Domestic violence, gender inequality, Latin America, economics and health as aspects of human development
V.V. Ganeshananthan
Associate Professor
English
612-626-7123
vganesha@umn.edu
Sri Lanka and its diasporas, human rights in contemporary fiction and journalism

Michael Goldman

612-624-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
 
Jennifer M Green
Associate Professor of Law
Law School
612-625-7247
jmgreen@umn.edu
International human rights law, international legal systems, domestic human rights litigation
Catherine Guisan
Visiting Assistant Professor
Political Science
612-624-4144
guis0001@umn.edu
Transnational ethics, citizens' participation in international relations
Serra Hakyemez
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
612-625-3400
hakyemez@umn.edu
Political-legal anthropology, social theory, human rights, political violence, "war on terror," courtroom ethnography, Kurdish freedom movement, Turkey, Middle East
Lisa Hilbink
Associate Professor
Political Science
612-626-0160
hilbink@umn.edu
Comparative judicial politics, comparative constitutionalism, Latine American and Iberian politics, and democratization
Bonnie Keeler
Assistant Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Co-Director of the Center for Science, Technology, and Environmental Policy
612-625-8905
keel0041@umn.edu
Water policy, intersection of sustainability science and environmental economics, environment equity
Ron Krebs
Professor
Political Science
612-624-4356
rkrebs@umn.edu
Counterterrorism, international security, the sociology of war and military service, language and politics
Sonja Kuftinec
Professor
Theatre Arts
kufti001@umn.edu Performance and social change, community-based theater, conflict transformation, the work of art to counter individual and historical amnesia
Howard Lavine
Associate Dean of Social Science
Arleen Carlson Professor
Political Science
Psychology
612-624-9839
lavine@umn.edu
Intersection of race and political context on public opinion, psychological underpinnings of mass political behavior
Deborah Levison
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-624-3540
dlevison@umn.edu
International development, child labor and education, human rights of children
Patrick McNamara
Associate Professor
Department of History
612-624-6531
pjm@umn.edu
History and memory, drug violence in the Americas
Steve Meili
Clinical Professor
Law School
612-626-3972
smeili@umn.edu
Human rights law, immigration law, civil procedure, and legal practice
Steven Miles
Mass Family Endowed Chair in Bioethics
Medical School
612-624-9440
miles001@umn.edu
Biomedical ethics, accountability of professionals for crimes against humanity, prisoners and detained refugees
Dipali Mukhopadhyay
Associate Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs 
dipali@umn.edu Political violence and conflict, state building, governance during and after war
Samuel Myers
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-9821
myers006@umn.edu
Academic labor markets, income inequality in China, racial disparities, race-neutral remedies
Fionnuala Ní Aoláin
Robina Chair in Law, Public Policy, and Society
Law School
University of Ulster
612-624-2318
niaol002@umn.edu
European Court of Human Rights, transitional justice, intersection of human rights and humanitarian norms, feminist legal theory, international human rights law and international criminal law intersection
Carrie Oelberger
Assistant Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-5947
coelberg@umn.edu
Professionalization, international development, nonprofit and NGO management, organizational theory, study of social movements
Leigh Payne
Human Rights Program Senior Research Fellow
Institute for Global Studies
University of Oxford
612-625-6103
lpayne@umn.edu
Transitional justice, social movement theory, Latin American politics, impunity, business and human rights
Luis Ramos-Garcia
Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese Studies
612-625-3039
laramosg@umn.edu
Human rights and politics in Latin America and Spain, human rights across the disciplines including theater/art/literature

Christopher Roberts
Associate Professor
Law School

612-624-2947
cnr@umn.edu
Formation of the International Bill of Human Rights, legal history, legal and social history
Cheryl Robertson
Associate Professor
School of Nursing
612-626-6450
rober007@umn.edu
Refugee health, war trauma and torture, global public health, eco-health strategies in Central/Eastern Africa
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
Sociology
612-624-0273
savel001@umn.edu
Collective representations and memory of mass violence and atrocities, human rights crimes and responses
Kathryn Sikkink
Regents Professor Emerita
Political Science
sikkink@umn.edu International human rights norms and institutions, transnational advocacy networks, impact of human rights law and policies, transitional justice
Frances Vavrus
Professor
Associate Chair
Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development
vavru003@umn.edu Comparative and international education, post/colonial history of education in Africa, comparative case studies
Janet Walsh
Director
Humphrey International Fellows Program
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-626-0728
walsh912@umn.edu
Gender equality, women's rights domestic and sexual violence
Thomas Wolfe
Associate Professor
Department of History
612-624-1886
wolfe023@umn.edu
European Union, Soviet Union, the role of media in the constitution of knowledge