Howard Reinmuth Prize in European History

Dr. Howard Reinmuth, professor of history at the University of Akron and an alumnus of the U of M’s Department of History, has established a fund to promote the study of Europe.  One prize is awarded annually.

Application Procedure & Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility is limited to undergraduate history majors with excellent scholastic records, who have taken at least two upper-division classes in European history during the preceding calendar year.

In order to be eligible for prize submission, papers must:

  • Be completed in the previous Fall, Summer, or Spring Semester (i.e. for the Spring 2021 prize, the paper must be from Fall, Summer, or Spring 2020).
  • Be accompanied by an appropriate cover sheet (contact for a copy).
  • Be written on a topic in European history.
  • The Reinmuth Prize is due the First Monday in March.

Past Recipients

  • Caleb Johnson (2022 - 2023)
    • “The Persecution of Strasbourg’s Jews during the Black Death”
  • Alex Kincaid-Beal (2021-2022)
    • "Locating Anglo-Saxon Stone Crosses in the Landscape"
  • Emily Paulus (2020-2021)
    • “Viking Ships in Funerary Practices: The Ship as a Symbol” 
  • Ian Fuchs (2019-2020)
    • "As Long as It's 'Not Grotesque': Sanctioned and Punished Queerness in the Great War" 
  • Alexander Reeves (2018-2019)
    • "Indignant Spirits: Public Opinion and the Effectuality of the Irish Republican Army 1916-1921"
  • Manuel Berduc (2015-2016)
    • "Between Lenin and Luxemburg: The German Revolution of 1917-1923 and Paul Levi's Foundations for a 'Mass Party' "
  • Andrew Solfest (2014-2015)
    • "El Choque de las Creencias: Christian-Islamic Interactions in Medieval Iberia Through the Lens of Las Cantigas"
  • Camille Marrinan (2013-2014)
    • "Social Expectations of the British Middle and Upper Classes during World War I:  A Look at Advertisements"
  • Drew Horwood (2012-2013)
    • "A Consulting Imperialist:  Sherlock Holmes, Conan Doyle, and the Ethos of Empire"
  • Kirsten Blilie (2011-2012)
    • "Gunpowder Weaponry in the Siege of Bamburgh"
  • Matt Gulbranson (2010-2011)
    • "Roman Manliness in Caesar’s Civil War"
  • Kathleen Hiatt (2009-2010)
    • "Victory Day in Russia: Collective Memory and the Second World War"
  • Meredith Wardlaw (2008-2009)
    • "Proto-Nationalism: Religious Orthodoxy and the Construction of Late Medieval Spanish Identity"
  • Luke Walker (2007-2008)
    • "Reconsidering Resistance: A Reexamination of the Catholic Resistance to National Socialism in Berlin"
  • Allison Cimpl (2006-2007)
    • "The Moral and Social Defense of Women in the Works of Christine de Pizan"
  • David Schrader (2005-2006)
    • "Hitler and Christianity: A Study of His Private Beliefs"