John L. & Elizabeth T. Harnsberger Scholarship

The John L. & Elizabeth T. Harnsberger Scholarship will be awarded annually to undergraduate scholars to promote a diversity of perspectives, experiences, and ideas in the History Department. History is the study of diverse societies, cultures, systems, and ideas across geographies and time. The Department of History prides itself on its commitment to diversity and on the fundamental premise that at its best historical inquiry requires a critical appreciation of diverse perspectives.

Scholarship funds can be used toward tuition, a research project, or community engagement work. The Undergraduate Studies Committee will review applications and award at least one Harnsberger Scholarship in the amount of $2400 each year. In the event that the committee receives multiple excellent applications and is unable to select one scholarship recipient, it may opt to award two scholarships in the amount of $1200.

Application Procedure & Eligibility Requirements

To encourage the widest range of applications possible, the eligibility requirements for the Harnsberger Scholarship are more encompassing. A student needs to be in good academic standing with the College of Liberal Arts and interested in pursuing a major or minor in History.

  • A letter of recommendation from an instructor or relevant community partner.
  • A two-page Personal Statement on how your background, experiences, and achievements will contribute to the History Department’s goal of promoting excellence through diversity. If applicable, nominees should mention hardships or obstacles that they have overcome (e.g. socioeconomic status, first-generation college students, discrimination, etc.) in their pursuit of undergraduate education. The personal statement should also describe in detail how the funds will enable you to pursue your goals as a historian over the coming summer, with a budget if appropriate.
  • The Harnsberger Scholarship is due the First Monday in March. 

Past Recipients

  • Katy Berg (2021-2022)
  • Ahmed Warsame (2021-2022)
  • Gabriela Llerena (2020-2021) 
  • Samira Ali (2019-2020)
  • Jacob Oertel (2018-2019)
  • Keren Habtes (2016-2017)
  • Ben Hartmann (2015-2016)
  • Alyssa Martin (2015-2016)