Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies 
264 Nicholson Hall
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt Wednesdays 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., via Zoom; additional hours available by appointment.
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
Department Chair
245 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world  
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture Appointments available via Zoom; please contact for available times
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography Thursdays 1:00 - 2:00 p.m., 1041 Heller Hall. Additional hours available by appointment
Nita Krevans
Professor
252 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature  
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible
258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Second Temple Judaism; Bible and the Humanities On leave Fall 2021 and Spring 2022
Hanne Loeland Levinson

Associate Professor

150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives On leave Fall 2021 and Spring 2022
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods  
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic Tuesdays 2:00 - 3:00 p.m., 150D Nicholson Hall. Additional hours available by appointment

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Jeanne Kilde
Director of Programs in Religious Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6393
jkilde@umn.edu
Religious Studies

Wednesdays 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 146C Nicholson Hall or Zoom by appointment. Additional hours available by appointment

Charles McNamara 266 Nicholson Hall
mcnamarc@umn.edu
Greek and Latin language, intellectual history in the ancient world Tuesdays 3:30 - 4:30 p.m., 266 Nicholson Hall or via Zoom. Additional hours available by appointment
Joshua Reno 262 Nichoson Hall
renox023@umn.edu
Greek language, early Christianity, classical philosophy and rhetoric, Greek and Roman gender and sexuality Wednesdays 10:00 - 11:00 a.m.; Thursday 1:30 - 2:30 pm, Nicholson Hall 262
Renana S. Schneller
Director of Hebrew Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer
150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu
Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic By appointment

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Andrea L. Sterk
Associate Professor
History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
sterk@umn.edu
Late Antiquity and Medieval Christianity
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
tsc@umn.edu Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu  Roman history
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu Pauline theology
Melissa Harl Sellew
Professor Emerita
sellew@umn.edu Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic
George A. Sheets
Professor Emeritus
gasheets@umn.edu Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history