Faculty

Current Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours Spring 2024
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
264 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1300 pahearne@umn.edu
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt Wednesdays 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. via Zoom, or by appointment in-person or via Zoom.
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
Department Chair
245A Nicholson Hall
612-624-6339
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world For Students: Tuesdays 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. or by appointment.
For Faculty: Wednesdays 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. or by appointment.
Ranjani Atur
Assistant Professor

254 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3326
ratur@umn.edu

 

Comparative ancient religion, art and material culture of ancient Greek religion, ancient Judaism and Christianity Mondays 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. or by appointment.
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture By appointment only.
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography Mondays 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. or by appointment.
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible
258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Second Temple Judaism; Bible and the Humanities Wednesdays 12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. or email to set up an appointment.
Hanne Loeland Levinson
Associate Professor
150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives  
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods  
Simone Oppen
Assistant Professor
146E Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
soppen@umn.edu
Ancient Greek drama, epigraphy, ancient Greek culture and literature Wednesdays 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. or by appointment.
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic Wednesdays 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. or by appointment.

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours Spring 2024
Samuel Baker 256 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
berkh018@umn.edu
Latin language, Classical literature Monday - Thursday 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. or by appointment.
Charles McNamara
Director of Greek and Latin Language Instruction
Lecturer
266 Nicholson Hall
mcnamarc@umn.edu
Greek and Latin language, intellectual history in the ancient world Tuesdays 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. or by appointment.
Renana S. Schneller
Director of Hebrew Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer
150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu
Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic By appointment only.

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours Spring 2024
Noah Segal
Research Specialist
262 Nicholson Hall
612-624-5631
nsegal@umn.edu
Ancient Roman social history Wednesdays 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Andrea L. Sterk
Associate Professor
History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
sterk@umn.edu
Late Antiquity and Medieval Christianity
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu 
Jackson Hershbel
Professor Emeritus
 
Nita Krevans
Professor Emerita
nkrevans@umn.edu
William Melandra
Professor Emeritus
malan001@umn.edu
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu
Melissa Harl Sellew
Professor Emerita
sellew@umn.edu
George A. Sheets
Professor Emeritus
gasheets@umn.edu