Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies 
264 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1300 pahearne@umn.edu
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt Wednesdays 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. or by appointment by contacting me at pahearne@umn.edu, via Zoom 
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
Department Chair
245A Nicholson Hall
612-624-6339
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world  

Ranjani Atur
Assistant Professor

254 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3326
ratur@umn.edu

 

Comparative ancient religion, art and material culture of ancient Greek religion, ancient Judaism and Christianity  
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture Wednesdays 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. or by appointment, via Zoom
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography Mondays 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. or by appointment, 1041 Heller Hall and via Zoom
Nita Krevans
Professor
252 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature

By appointment only, via Zoom

Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible

258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Second Temple Judaism; Bible and the Humanities On leave Fall 2021 and Spring 2022
Hanne Loeland Levinson

Associate Professor

150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives On leave Fall 2021 and Spring 2022
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods

 

Simone Oppen
Assistant Professor
146E Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
soppen@umn.edu
Ancient Greek drama, epigraphy, ancient Greek culture and literature  
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic Tuesdays 2:00 - 3:00 p.m., 150D Nicholson Hall or by appointment

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty

Office Hours

Jeanne Kilde
Director of Programs in Religious Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6393
jkilde@umn.edu
Religious Studies Wednesdays 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. in person, 146C Nicholson Hall. Thursdays 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Charles McNamara
Director of Greek and Latin Language Instruction
Lecturer

266 Nicholson Hall
mcnamarc@umn.edu
Greek and Latin language, intellectual history in the ancient world Tuesdays 3:30 - 4:30 p.m., 266 Nicholson Hall or via Zoom. Additional hours available by appointment
Renana S. Schneller
Director of Hebrew Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer

150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu

Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic By appointment
Anthony Thomas
Lecturer
256 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
thom5398@umn.edu
   

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Contact Specialty
Noah Segal
Research Specialist

262 Nicholson Hall
612-624-5631
nsegal@umn.edu

Ancient Roman social history

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Andrea L. Sterk
Associate Professor
History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
sterk@umn.edu
Late Antiquity and Medieval Christianity
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
tsc@umn.edu Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu  Roman history
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu Pauline theology
Melissa Harl Sellew
Professor Emerita
sellew@umn.edu Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic
George A. Sheets
Professor Emeritus
gasheets@umn.edu Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history