The Center for the Study of Political Psychology brings together faculty from a variety of units at the University of Minnesota. The CSPP core faculty are currently drawn from the Department of Political Science, the Department of Psychology, and the Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication. CSPP also includes affiliated faculty with interests in political psychology from these units and many others throughout the University.

CSPP Director

Name Email Department Interests
Paul Goren
Director, CSPP
pgoren@umn.edu Political Science Political sophistication, personal and political values, voting behavior, race and the welfare state

CSPP Core Faculty

Name Email Department Interests
Eugene Borgida borgi001@umn.edu Psychology Attitudes and social cognition, psychology and law, political psychology
Chris Federico federico@umn.edu Psychology, Political Science Social-psychological foundations of ideology and belief systems, racial attitudes, political sophistication
Howard Lavine lavine@umn.edu Political Science Personality and politics, partisanship, political persuasion, ambivalence, and authoritarianism
C. Daniel Myers cdmyers@umn.edu Political Science Deliberation, political
communication, and experimental methods
Albert Tims
Professor Emeritus
timsx001@umn.edu Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication The role of media in adolescent political socialization, public opinion formation and change, and political advertising
John Sullivan
Professor Emeritus
jsull@umn.edu Political Science Political tolerance, political psychology, elections, American politics, electronic communication
Benjamin Toff bjtoff@umn.edu Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication Public opinion, political communication, and changing journalism norms and practices
Emily Vraga
Director of Graduate Studies, Political Psychology Minor
ekvraga@umn.edu Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication Social media, misinformation, disagreement, media literacy, and biased processing


CSPP Affiliated Faculty

Name Email Department
Sid Bedingfield sbedingf@umn.edu Journalism & Mass Communication
Avner Ben-Ner benne001@umn.edu Carlson School of Management
Karlyn Campbell campb003@umn.edu Communication Studies
June Carbone jcarbone@umn.edu  Law School
Penny Edgell edgell@umn.edu Sociology
Sarah Gollust sgollust@umn.edu School of Public Health
Claire Hill hillx445@umn.edu Law School
Marti Hope Gonzales gonza001@umn.edu Psychology
Larry Jacobs ljacobs@umn.edu Political ScienceHumphrey School of Public Affairs
Herbert Kritzer
Professor Emeritus
kritzer@umn.edu Law School
Wendy Rahn
Professor Emerita
rahnx003@umn.edu Political Science
Francis Shen fxshen@umn.edu Law School
Joe Soss jbsoss@umn.edu Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Mark Snyder msnyder@umn.edu PsychologyCSIS
Marco Yzer mcyzer@umn.edu Journalism & Mass Communication