You are here

Concert Bands

Symphonic Band

Wind Ensemble

Director: Dr. Emily Threinen

The Wind Ensemble is a select ensemble composed of 60 of the University’s finest graduate and undergraduate wind and percussion musicians. The ensemble performs five to six concerts on and off campus each academic year. Admission is by audition only.

Symphonic Band

Director: Professor Jerry Luckhardt

The Symphonic Band is an ensemble of 70 to 80 select wind and percussion players. Although many members are music majors, the ensemble includes a number of undergraduate and graduate students from other disciplines. Symphonic Band performs four or five concerts each year. Admission is by audition only.

University Band

University Band Director: Professor Betsy McCann

The University Band is an ensemble of 80 to 90 wind and percussion players who represent a combination of music majors and students from other disciplines. The University Band rehearses two times per week (Monday and Thursday evenings) and performs two concerts per semester. Auditions for new members will be held on Thursday, September 6, 2018. Please contact ensemble@umn.edu for full audition information.
 

Campus Bands

Campus Bands Directors: Cory Near, Cassandra Bechard, and J. Nick Smith

We are proud to offer three Campus Band opportunities: Maroon Band, Gold Band, and North Star Band. The Campus Bands are open to students of varied majors and disciplines within the University. These ensembles allow all levels of student musicians to enjoy making music with limited rehearsal demands. The Campus Bands rehearse one time per week (Monday, Wednesday, or Thursday evening) and perform two concerts per semester. A formal audition is not required. 

If you are interested in joining a Campus Band, sign up for MUS 3400, section 002, 003, or 004.

Concert Band Concerts, Fall 2017

October
Wednesday, October 18 at 7:30 pm Symphonic Band Concert
Friday, October 20 at 7:30 pm  Wind Ensemble Concert
Thursday, October 26 at 7:30 pm North Star and Gold Campus Bands Concert 
Monday, October 30 at 6:30 pm University and Maroon Campus Bands Concert
November
Saturday, November 4 at 7:30 pm Collage Concert
Thursday, November 30 at 7:30 pm University and Gold Campus Bands Concert 
December
Monday, December 4 at 7:30 pm North Star and Maroon Campus Bands Concert
Wednesday, December 6 at 7:30 pm Symphonic Band Concert
Tuesday, December 12 at 7:30 pm Wind Ensemble and University Symphony Orchestra Concert

Concert Band Concerts, Spring 2018

January
Friday-Sunday, January 19-21 24th Annual High School Honor Band Weekend
Sunday, January 21 at 1:30 pm  Honor Band Concert
February
Monday, February 26 at 7:30 pm Maroon & Gold Campus Bands Concert
March
Thursday, March 1 at 7:00 pm University and North Star Campus Bands Concert
Monday, March 5 at 7:30 pm Wind Ensemble Concert
Tuesday, March 6 at 7:30 pm Symphonic Band Concert
April
Thursday, April 12 at 7:30 pm Symphonic Band Concert
Monday, April 30 at 7:30 pm North Star, Gold, and Maroon Campus Bands Concert
May
Wednesday, May 2 at 7:30 pm Wind Ensemble Concert 
Thursday, May 3 at 7:30 pm University Band Concert

Connect with us!

Other Bands

Donate

If you are interested in financially supporting the U of M Band program, please contact CLA Development Officer Jake Muszynski at 612-626-5141 or jrm@umn.edu.

Prospective Students

Regardless of your intended major, there are several ways to become a part of the rich Band tradition at the University of Minnesota.

  • Audition for a Concert Band (4 of 6 concert bands do not require an audition)
  • Audition for the Marching Band
  • Apply to the School of Music (music majors, minors and PSEO students)

Music Educators

  • U of M Band Events 2018-2019 poster will be created for classroom decoration.
  • If you are interested in visiting campus to observe rehearsal or schedule a tour, contact ubands@umn.edu

Additional Questions?

Contact ubands@umn.edu or call 612-624-6873