You are here

Faculty

An unparalleled faculty is the cornerstone of the academic experience at the School of Music. Our vibrant and personable faculty is comprised of nationally and internationally known musicians and scholars. They are also master teachers with centuries of collective experience in pedagogy and learning.

The faculty includes more than 50 full-time professors and more than 30 affiliated teachers, many of whom are principals with the Minnesota Orchestra or the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra or established teacher-performers in the Twin Cities. Regardless of their specialty, each faculty member cares about the students and delights in seeing them develop as scholars, teachers, composers, and performers.

For more information about the School of Music faculty, please choose a faculty member or a division of specialty below.

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Akosua Addo
Associate Professor
150 Ferguson Hall
612-624-8516
addox002@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
By appointment
Stephanie, Arado 
Assistant Professor 
sarado@umn.edu   By appointment
Thomas Ashworth
Professor
22 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4148
ashwo001@umn.edu
Brass By appointment
Alyssa Barna
Assistant Professor
124 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9049
barna@umn.edu
Theory Tuesday: 10 - 11 am 
Wednesday: 1:30 - 2:30 pm 
Thursday: 10: 15-11 am 
Marissa Benedict
Assistant Professor
24 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7877
marissab@umn.edu
Brass By appointment
Dean Billmeyer
Professor
234 Ferguson Hall
612-624-3307
dwb@umn.edu
Keyboard (Organ/Harpsichord)
Theory
As posted outside office or by appointment
Alexander Braginsky 
(Fall '20 Leave)
Professor
270 Ferguson Hall
612-624-3572
bragi001@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano) On leave
Matt Bribitzer-Stull
Professor
130 Ferguson Hall
612-625-9896
mpbs@umn.edu
Theory By appointment
Gabriela Currie 
(Spring '21 Leave)
Associate Professor
166 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0261
ilnit001@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology By appointment
Scott Currie
Associate Professor
132 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7512
scurrie@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media By appointment
David Damschroder
Professor
120 Ferguson Hall
612-624-8043
damsc001@umn.edu
Theory By appointment
Immanuel Davis
Associate Professor
210 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0582
davis210@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Flute) By appointment
John De Haan
Associate Professor
248 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5270
dehaa006@umn.edu
Voice By appointment
Preston Duncan
Senior Lecturer
260 Ferguson Hall
320-589-6234
dunca119@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Saxophone) By appointment
Sumanth Gopinath
Associate Professor
114 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1829
sumanth@umn.edu
Theory By appointment
Keitha Lucas Hamann
Associate Professor
152 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9819
haman011@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
By appointment
Kelley Harness
Associate Professor
168 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0298
harne005@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology By appointment
Kyung Kim
Associate Professor
28 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7329
krkim@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano) By appointment
Michael Kim
Director of the School of Music
Professor 
200E Ferguson Hall
612-624-7060
mikim@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano) By appointment
Korey Konkol
Professor
220 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9086
konko002@umn.edu
Strings (Viola) By appointment
Timothy Lovelace
Ethel Alice Hitch­cock Chair in Col­lab­ora­tive Piano & Coach­ing
Professor
240 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0560
lovelace@umn.edu
Keyboard (Collaborative Piano)
Coaching
By appointment
Alex Lubet
Professor
122 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7840
lubet001@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media
Composition
By appointment
Jerry Luckhardt
Associate Director of Bands
Associate Professor
238 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2536
luckh001@umn.edu
Ensembles By appointment
Guerino Mazzola 
Professor
164 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4487
mazzola@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media By appointment
Elizabeth (Betsy) McCann
Assistant Director of Bands
Director of Marching and Athletic Bands
Assistant Professor
108 Ferguson Hall
612-625-7567 (Ferguson Hall)
612-625-5877 (TCF Stadium Office)
kern0072@umn.edu
Ensembles Virtual office hours by appointment, in person office hours by appointment at TCF Bank Stadium
Matthew Mehaffey
Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Associate Director of Choral Activities
Professor
118 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1511
mehaffey@umn.edu
Ensembles By appointment, please email to arrange
Peter Mercer-Taylor 
(Fall '20 Leave)
Professor
158 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0385
merce011@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology On leave
Fernando Meza
Director of Percussion Studies
Associate Professor
29 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5846
mezax001@umn.edu
Percussion By appointment
Sally O'Reilly
Professor
216 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0846
oreil004@umn.edu
Strings (Violin) By appointment
Karen Painter 
(Fall '20 Leave)
Associate Professor
126 Ferguson Hall
612-626-7063
kpainter@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology By appointment (on leave)
 
Maja Radovanlija
Teaching Specialist
116 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4111
mradovan@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media (Guitar)
Strings
Tuesday & Thursday: 9 - 11 am
Matt Rahaim
Associate Professor
170 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2393
mrahaim@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology By appointment
Tanya Remenikova
Professor
218 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0809
remen001@umn.edu
Strings (Cello) By appointment
Kathy Saltzman Romey
Director of Choral Activities
Professor
16 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9557
romey001@umn.edu
Ensembles (Chorus) Monday & Wednesday: 11:30 am - 12:30 pm or by appointment
Lance Sample
Assistant Director of Marching and Athletic Bands
 
108 Ferguson Hall
612-625-7567 (Ferguson Hall)
612-624-2793 (TCF Stadium Office)
lsample@umn.edu
Ensembles  By appointment
Todd Schwartzberg
Senior Teaching Specialist & Clinic Coordinator
134 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6016
schwa155@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Monday, Wednesday: 9 am - 1 pm or by appointment
Tuesday, Thursday: 10 am - 11 am or by appointment
Paul Shaw 
(Fall '20 Leave)
Associate Professor
264 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0523
shawx004@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano) On leave
Michael Silverman
Director of Graduate Studies/
Associate Director
Director of Music Therapy
Professor
156 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1091
silvermj@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday: 9 - 10 am
Laura Sindberg
Associate Professor
154 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0093
lsindber@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
By appointment
Mark Russell Smith
Artistic Director of Orchestral Studies
Associate Professor
30 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5561
mrsmith@umn.edu
Ensembles (Orchestra) By appointment
Dean Sorenson
​Director of Jazz Studies
Associate Professor
236 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2334
soren048@umn.edu
Ensembles (Jazz) Tuesday & Thursday: 9 - 10 am or by appointment
Emily Threinen
Director of Bands
Associate Professor 
224 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6873 (Band Office)
612-625-3328 (Direct Line)
threinen@umn.edu 
Ensembles (Bands) By appointment, please email to arrange
Victoria Vargas
Assistant Professor 
    By appointment
David Walsh
Associate Professor
Director of Opera Theatre
268 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6596
walsh057@umn.edu
Ensembles (Opera) By appointment
Wendy Zaro-Mullins
Associate Professor
262 Ferguson Hall
612-625-3386
zarox001@umn.edu
Voice By appointment
Philip Zawisza
Assistant Professor
250 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4569
zawis014@umn.edu
Voice Monday: 8 - 10am

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Affiliate Program Office Hours
Michael Gallope
Associate Professor
08 Nicholson Hall
612-624-1538
mgallope@umn.edu
Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature By appointment

Teaching Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Julia Bogorad-Kogan 160 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
bogor001@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Flute) By appointment
Lara Bolton
148 Ferguson Hall
Voice By appointment
Christopher Brown  172 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0034
brown009@umn.edu
Strings (Double Bass) By appointment
Steven Campbell
230 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
campb467@umn.edu
Brass (Tuba) By appointment
Lars Christensen chri2397@umn.edu   By appointment
Casey Clementson 
152 Ferguson Hall
clem0038@umn.edu
Music Education By appointment
Adrian Davis
195 Ferguson Hall
Ensembles (Gospel Choir)
By appointment
Ellen Dinwiddie Smith 18 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
dinsmith@umn.edu 
Brass (Horn) By appointment
Jennifer Gerth
160 Ferguson Hall
Woodwinds (Clarinet) By appointment
Jane Giering-De Haan 148 Ferguson Hall
gieri001@umn.edu
Voice By appointment
Emily Heuschele
M168 Ferguson Hall
By appointment
Philip Hey 612-624-5740
heyxx002@umn.edu
Percussion (Jazz) By appointment
Kathy Kienzle
 
34 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
kienz004@umn.edu
Strings (Harp) By appointment
Christine Soojin Kim  kim01337@umn.edu Woodwinds (Oboe) By appointment
Sang Yoon Kim  kim01336@umn.edu Woodwinds (Clarinet) By appointment
Thomas Lancaster
Score Study/Choral Lit
By appointment
Caroline Lemen
 
230 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
lemen009@umn.edu
Brass (Horn) By appointment
Brian McCullough
Certified Teacher of the Alexander Technique (AmSAT)
100 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
mccul045@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
By appointment
Sowah Mensah
 
100 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
mensa001@umn.edu
Ensembles (World Music) By appointment
John Miller
 
128 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
mille108@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Bassoon) By appointment
Norbert Nielubowski
 
128 Ferguson Hall
nielu001@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Contrabassoon) By appointment
John Tranter 22 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4148
trant004@umn.edu
Brass (Trombone) By appointment
David Williamson 172 Ferguson Hall
will4177@umn.edu
Strings (Double Bass) By appointment