Faculty

Current Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours Fall 2022
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies 
264 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1300 pahearne@umn.edu
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt  
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
Department Chair
245A Nicholson Hall
612-624-6339
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world By appointment only.

Ranjani Atur
Assistant Professor

254 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3326
ratur@umn.edu

 

Comparative ancient religion, art and material culture of ancient Greek religion, ancient Judaism and Christianity Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. in 254 Nicholson Hall.
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture By appointment only via Zoom.
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography  
Nita Krevans
Professor
252 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature

 

Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible

258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Second Temple Judaism; Bible and the Humanities Wednesdays 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. or by appointment in 258 Nicholson Hall or via Zoom.
Hanne Loeland Levinson

Associate Professor

150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives Thursdays 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. in Nicholson 150E, or by appointment in-person or via Zoom.
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods

On leave Fall 2022 - Spring 2023

Simone Oppen
Assistant Professor
146E Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
soppen@umn.edu
Ancient Greek drama, epigraphy, ancient Greek culture and literature By appointment only, via Zoom or in 146E Nicholson Hall. Schedule an appointment on Calendly.
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic On leave Fall 2022 - Spring 2023

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty

Office Hours Fall 2022

Jeanne Kilde
Director of Programs in Religious Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6393
jkilde@umn.edu
Religious Studies Wednesdays 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. in person, 146C Nicholson Hall. Thursdays 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Charles McNamara
Director of Greek and Latin Language Instruction
Lecturer

266 Nicholson Hall
mcnamarc@umn.edu
Greek and Latin language, intellectual history in the ancient world Tuesdays 3:30 - 4:30 p.m., 266 Nicholson Hall. 
Renana S. Schneller
Director of Hebrew Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer

150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu

Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic By appointment only.
Anthony Thomas
Lecturer
256 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
thom5398@umn.edu
  Tuesdays 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. in 256 Nicholson Hall.

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Contact Specialty
Noah Segal
Research Specialist

262 Nicholson Hall
612-624-5631
nsegal@umn.edu

Ancient Roman social history

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Andrea L. Sterk
Associate Professor
History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
sterk@umn.edu
Late Antiquity and Medieval Christianity
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
tsc@umn.edu Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu  Roman history
Jackson Hershbel
Professor Emeritus
  Greek Literature

William Melandra
Professor Emeritus

malan001@umn.edu Indo-Iranian philology and religion
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu

Pauline theology

Melissa Harl Sellew
Professor Emerita
sellew@umn.edu Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic
George A. Sheets
Professor Emeritus
gasheets@umn.edu Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history