People

Staff

Name Contact Department
Juliette Cherbuliez
Director
cherbuli@umn.edu 
612-624-3473
Center for Premodern Studies
Lydia Garver
Associate Director
premod@umn.edu
612-625-0768
Center for Premodern Studies
Marguerite Ragnow
Union Pacific Trustee
ragn0001@umn.edu
612-624-6895
James Ford Bell Library
Jonas Gardsby
Research Assistant
premodstudies@umn.edu
612-625-6303
Center for Premodern Studies
Alex Korte
Research Assistant
premodstudies@umn.edu
612-625-6303
Center for Premodern Studies

Affiliated Faculty

Name Contact Department
Victor D. Boantza vboantza@umn.edu History of Science, Technology & Medicine
Tony Brown tcbrown@umn.edu English
Giancarlo Casale casale@umn.edu History
Sinem Casale sinem@umn.edu Art History
Sarah Chambers chambers@umn.edu History
David Chang dchang@umn.edu History
Juliette Cherbuliez cherbuli@umn.edu French & Italian
Gabriela Currie ilnit001@umn.edu Music
Andrew Elfenbein elfen001@umn.edu English
Kirsten Fischer kfischer@umn.edu History
Michael Gaudio gaudio@umn.edu Art History
Katharine Gerbner kgerbner@umn.edu History
Jessica Gordon-Roth gordo216@umn.edu Philosophy
Daniel Greenberg gree2948@umn.edu Art History
Michelle Hamilton hamilton@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese Studies
Kelley Harness harne005@umn.edu Music
Katherine Hayes kathayes@umn.edu Anthropology
Christopher Isett isett003@umn.edu History
Michal Kobialka kobia001@umn.edu Theatre Arts & Dance
Rebecca Krug krugx001@umn.edu English
Howard Louthan hlouthan@umn.edu History
Raul Marrero-Fente rmarrero@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese Studies
Nabil Matar matar010@umn.edu English
Steven Matthews smatthew@d.umn.edu

History (University of Minnesota Duluth)

Michael Bennett McNulty mcnu0074@umn.edu Philosophy
Susan Noakes noake001@umn.edu French & Italian
Jean O'Brien-Kehoe obrie002@umn.edu History
Steven Ostrow ostro133@umn.edu Art History
James Parente paren001@umn.edu German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch
Marguerite Ragnow ragn0001@umn.edu James Ford Bell Library; CPS Director of Publications
Kathryn Reyerson reyer001@umn.edu History
Jennifer Row jjrow@umn.edu French & Italian
Nida Sajid nsajid@umn.edu Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
Arun Saldanha saldanha@umn.edu Geography
Katherine Scheil kscheil@umn.edu English
Daniel Schroeter schro800@umn.edu History
Anna L. Seastrand annalise@umn.edu Art History
Jole Shackelford shack001@umn.edu History of Medicine
JB Shank jbshank@umn.edu History
Anurag Sinha asinha@umn.edu Political Science
Andrea Sterk sterk@umn.edu History
Rachel Trocchio trocc004@umn.edu English
Ann Waltner waltn001@umn.edu History
John Watkins watki005@umn.edu English
Amit Yahav ayahav@umn.edu English

Emeritus Faculty

Name Contact Department
Catherine Asher         asher001@umn.edu Art History
Daniel Brewer dbrewer@umn.edu French & Italian
Edward Farmer efarmer@umn.edu History
Shirley Garner         sngarner@umn.edu English
Russell Menard   History
Lisa Norling     norli001@umn.edu History
Carla Rahn Phillips phill002@umn.edu History
William D. Phillips phill004@umn.edu History
Alan Shapiro ashapiro@physics.umn.edu History of Science, Medicine & Technology
Nicolas Spadaccini spada001@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese Studies
James Tracy tracy001@umn.edu History
Joan Tronto jctronto@umn.edu Political Science
Arthur Walzer awalzer@umn.edu Communication Studies

Research Affiliates

Name Contact Research Interests
Jennifer Awes-Freeman jawesfre@umn.edu  
Marie Balsley Taylor balsl001@umn.edu  

Justin Biel

justin.biel@mnsu.edu

Modern Britain, Colonialism, History of Secularism, Enlightenment Studies

Francesca Bortoletti fbortole@umn.edu  
Mario Cossio Olavide cossi009@umn.edu  
Theodore Greenfield gree0676@umn.edu  
Stefano Gulizia sgulizia@umn.edu  
Brian Hanson blhanson@umn.edu  
Nicole Labouff nlabouff@umn.edu  
Miguel Llanos de la Guardia mllanosd@umn.edu  
Nathan Weaver Olson olso6158@umn.edu  
Noam Ezra Sienna sienn002@umn.edu  
Katie Sue Sisneros sisne004@umn.edu  
Emma Snowden snowd030@umn.edu  
Harry Wayne Storey hstorey@umn.edu  
Linda Sturtz lsturtz@umn.edu  
Amanda Taylor tayl0861@umn.edu Late medieval and early modern English and Italian Literature, arms and armor, fencing treatises, and medical texts.

Travis Wilds

tbwilds@umn.edu

 
Genevieve Hope Young youn0561@umn.edu