You are here

Faculty

The Department of German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch is a dynamic community of faculty, instructors, and graduate students. Our faculty are known nationally and internationally for their research and teaching in the medieval and pre-modern area, transnational interdisciplinary studies (from cultural and gender studies to environmental humanities, intellectual history, Jewish studies, and film), and second-language acquisition.

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Eric Baker
Lecturer
329C Folwell Hall
612-626-5-6613
baker121@umn.edu
German language & literature
Benjamin Bigelow
Assistant Professor
328D Folwell Hall
612-626-3327
bbigelow@umn.edu
Scandinavian literature and culture
Nadya Clayton
Lecturer
320D Folwell
612-626-6335
nclayton@umn.edu
Russian language & literature
Ross Etherton
Assistant Professor
323B Folwell Hall
612-625-0999
ether040@umn.edu
German literature
Gary R. Jahn
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies for Slavic
320H Folwell
612-625-6557
gjahn@umn.edu
Russian language & literature
Kristiina Jomppanen
Teaching Specialist
320M Folwell Hall
612-626-1651
jompp001@umn.edu
Finnish language  & culture
Ari Hoptman
Senior Lecturer
329B Folwell Hall
612-625-6008
hoptm001@umn.edu
German language
Arsena Ianeva-Lockney
Senior Lecturer
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0999
ianev001@umn.edu
German language, business German, beginning Norwegian language
Dan Karvonen
Senior Lecturer
On Leave 2019-20
karvonen@umn.edu Finnish language and culture
Elizabeth Kautz
Education Program Specialist
 
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0738
kautz001@umn.edu
German language
Kyle Korynta
Lecturer
327J Folwell Hall
612-625-4059
kory0008@umn.edu
Norwegian language
Anatoly Liberman
Professor
323A Folwell Hall
612-625-5594
aliber@umn.edu
General linguistics, Germanic philology, folklore, poetic translation
Kirk Martinson
Lecturer
328A Folwell Hall
612-625-4505
mart0209@umn.edu
German language
Richard McCormick
Professor
On Leave Spring 2020
328E Folwell Hall
612-625-0341
mccor001@umn.edu
German film studies and film history, 20th century German literature, feminism and gender studies
Erik McDonald
Lecturer
320B Folwell
612-626-1894
emcdonal@umn.edu
Russian language & literature
Charlotte Melin
Professor
Chair
On leave Spring 2020
327F Folwell Hall
612-626-8785
melin005@umn.edu
Postwar German poetry, second-language acquisition, transnational literary relations, environmental humanities
Leslie Morris
Professor
327A Folwell Hall
612-624-4047
morri074@umn.edu
20th century German and Austrian literature, poetry, Jewish studies
Lena Norrman
Lecturer
On leave Fall 2019
320K Folwell Hall
612-626-7971
norrman@umn.edu
Swedish language, culture, and literature, medieval studies, folklore, women's studies
Jenneke Oosterhoff
Senior Lecturer
On leave Spring 2020
320N Folwell Hall
612-624-1041
ooste003@umn.edu
Dutch culture and literature, Dutch and German film, turn-of-the-century German and Austrian literature, business German
James A. Parente, Jr.
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies for German, Nordic, and Dutch
328F Folwell Hall
612-626-1620
paren001@umn.edu
Medieval and early modern German, Netherlandic, and Scandinavian literature and culture
Jennifer Peterson
Senior Teaching Specialist
327E Folwell Hall
612-626-0492
peter511@umn.edu
German language
Liina-Ly Roos
Lecturer
327J Folwell Hall
612-625-4059
lroos@umn.edu
Swedish language
Matthias Rothe
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
328G Folwell Hall
612-625-9034
mrothe@umn.edu
18th century political philosophy, philosophical and literary presentability of economic practices, Brechtian and contemporary theater
Helena Ruf
Lecturer
Director of Language Instruction
 
327D Folwell Hall
612-625-3380
rahd0001@umn.edu
German language
DeeAnn Sime
Senior Teaching Specialist
On leave Spring 2020
327H Folwell Hall
612-625-8651
simex006@umn.edu
German language
Rüdiger Singer
Visiting Associate Professor
327C Folwell Hall
612-625-4898
singerr@umn.edu
Literature and poetics of the "Goethezeit" and around 1900; European drama, theater, and theater theory; word and image relations; rhetoric and literature; parody and literary nonsense
Virgina Steinhagen
Senior Lecturer
320J Folwell Hall
612-626-2879
stein093@umn.edu
German language
Yana Taets
Teaching Specialist
320C Folwell
612-625-1384
taets003@umn.edu
Russian & German language
Hanna Zmijewska-Emerson
Senior Lecturer
320A Folwell Hall
612-624-4467
zmije001@umn.edu
Norwegian language, 19th century Norwegian drama, Scandinavian women writers and 20th century fiction.

Affiliate Faculty 

Name Contact Specialties
Bernard Bachrach
Professor
History
bachr001@umn.edu Medieval Europe before 1200; medieval military history
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Sociology
abaer@umn.edu Holocaust and genocide studies; social memory studies; antisemitism
William Beeman
Professor
Anthropology
wbeeman@umn.edu Linguistic anthropology; comparative study of theater and performance; opera
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
English
craig026@umn.edu German and Italian cinema; literary, film, feminist, and queer theory
Richard Leppert
Regents Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
leppe001@umn.edu Aesthetics; critical and cultural theory; musicology; visual culture
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Classical & Near Eastern Languages; Law
levinson@umn.edu Hebrew Bible; biblical law; biblical hermeneutics; religion in German intellectual history
Howard Louthan
Professor
History
hlouthan@umn.edu Early modern Central and Eastern European history; Reformation and Counter-Reformation; history of religion
Alice Lovejoy
Assistant Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
alovejoy@umn.edu Film and media history and historiography; East Central European film; literature and cultural history
Mary Jo Maynes
Professor
History
mayne001@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German history; social history; women’s history
Karen Painter
Associate Professor
Music
kpainter@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German and Austrian music history
Thomas Pepper
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
tapepper@umn.edu Psychoanalytic theory; gender; textual theory
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
Sociology
savel001@umn.edu Human rights; law, collective representation and memory of mass violence
Andrew Scheil
Associate Professor
English
ascheil@umn.edu Anglo-Saxon language and literature; Middle English and medieval Latin literature
J.B. Shank
Associate Professor
History
jbshank@umn.edu Early modern European intellectual history; Renaissance science and culture
Brian Vetruba
Librarian
European Studies & Digital Scholarship
bvetruba@umn.edu European history, languages, and literatures; digital humanities
Christophe Wall-Romana
Associate Professor
French
wallr007@umn.edu Modern European critical theory and philosophy; modern poetry; translation studies

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Kaaren Grimstad
Associate Professor Emerita;
PhD, Harvard University
grims001@umn.edu Old Norse languages and literatures, Icelandic sagas, Scandinavian mythology, Swedish
Poul Houe
Professor
houex001@umn.edu Modern Danish and Swedish literature, European humanism, travel and exile literature
Ruth-Ellen B Joeres
Professor Emerita;
PhD, Johns Hopkins
joere001@umn.edu German women's literary, social and cultural history, 18th-20th centuries; feminist/gender theories and cultural studies
Arlene Teraoka
Professor Emerita;
PhD, Stanford University
terao001@umn.edu 20th-century and minority German literature, German intellectual history, cultural criticism
Ray Wakefield
Associate Professor Emeritus;
PhD, Indiana University
wakef001@umn.edu Second-language acquisition, medieval German literature, Dutch
Gerhard Weiss
Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus;
PhD, University of Wisconsin
weiss003@umn.edu 17th-century literature, literature from later 19th to early 20th century, culture studies
Monika Zagar
Professor Emerita;
PhD, University of California-Berkeley
zagar001@umn.edu Norwegian language & literature, modernism, Scandinavian women writers
Jack Zipes
Professor Emeritus;
PhD, Columbia University
zipes001@umn.edu Fairy tales, 20th-century literature, German, GDR, women's, and Jewish studies